ING logo

ING Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 21 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent ING car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • ING Car Insurance

    Highly recommend ING

    Highly recommend ING for all you banking and insurance needs.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Cory, Victoria, reviewed 3 days ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Lack of service & responsibility. Stay away

    Stay away from this insurance. I feel they had a lack of service towards my son. In the end, he withdraw the claim. They want you to do so much running around, doing what they are meant to do instead of providing the service paid for. Seems they will do what they can to avoid taking responsibility. I highly don't recommend them and ING ins will definitely not be used again by my family!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Rose, New South Wales, reviewed 28 days ago
  • ING Car Insurance

    Poor service & extremely inefficient

    I recently made a claim on a minor not at fault claim on an expensive vehicle. I was told repairs were authorised & car was booked into repairer - 1 week later the car is still untouched as ING are reviewing paperwork. Every time I call I get a different story its nothing short of a nightmare. I would never recommend ING based on this experience the staff have been rude & dismissive telling me my claim is in a queue after 1 week in repair yard. Save yourself the stress & insure with someone else.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Lenore, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • ING Car Insurance

    Terrible service. Would never recommend.

    Had a not at fault accident. Called ING to arrange hire car, towing to assessors etc. Told I couldn't get a hire car until they towed my car (which they delayed). I called a few days later asking for the status and was told by ING that I'd have to contact the panel shop myself to find out. Called them. Was told it had been sitting there for days. Called back ING who said they forgot to finalize processing my claim so I had to go through half the process again before they could arrange a car. Once I got a hire car I heard nothing until I chased ING again asking for the status of my claim. Car was eventually written off. I was told I had to *immediately* return the hire car despite not having received my funds etc. or I'd have to pay extra fees. So I'm currently without a hire car and without the payout for my car. Despicable service, I had better service from RACV, CGU, AAMI. My mother worked in insurance for over 30 years and says she's never encountered such bad service.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Steve, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • ING Car Insurance

    Worst possible service

    If you are ever in a situation to make a claim, this is the worst insurance to have. Do not recommend at all. I was involved in a car accident over 4 weeks ago. My car was in the holding yard for 2 weeks. In third week it was towed to the mechanic. Two weeks later, the mechanic has still not quoted the work. Just called the ING assessment centre, they can't say anything because they have no idea what needs to be done. Almost 5 weeks and we have not moved anywhere. I have no car, I have no way of getting around. Pathetic, ridiculous and the last thing you want. after being in a car accident. Nobody really cares. Will never go with ING again and will advise everyone I know not to even consider it.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Julka, Western Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Wasted 30min on the phone, didn't even get a quote

    Went to ING website to get quote for car insurance. After entering my details / car rego, a message popped up telling me to call them to provide further details. At this point no quote amount was given. I called their number, waited in queue and spoke to three operators who (politely but) repeatedly asked the same personal details (name, DOB, address) as well as my quote reference. By this time I had been on the phone for 30min! I was told they would need to collect my details and send to another department for due diligence and they would get back to me in 2-days just for a quote! In the end I said, thanks but no thanks. Time wasted and unhappy!

    Customer service
    Less
    Jessica, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Everything you need and more!

    I can’t recommend ING enough! The claim process was super quick and smooth. I have hire car cover and the process of booking and picking up the car was faultless. They knew exactly who I was and what I needed and even gave a free upgrade. There was an issue with the car not being towed for a week and ING have come to the party and gracefully and effortlessly extended my hire car beyond my policy cover. It took 5 minutes on the phone. You guys are absolute legends! I’m a customer for life now.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Philippa, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great trustworthy company and allows f/night pays.

    When I was looking for Comprehensive Car Insurance, I coud'nt find a company that would allow me to pay fortnightly. Most companies make you pay Monthly and I find that very difficult. There are cheaper alternatives, but I've heard negative remarks about them and the one I would go with is more expensive that ING.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Mauricio, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Good insurance.

    I like my ING insurance, they are great. It’s frustrating that you have to pay extra for roadside assistance though.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Aimee, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Fantastic service.

    ING has been my insurer for over a year now and have fantastic support and customer service. Everything is explained so you can understand and you speak to someone who is real and understands what they are selling. They are very helpful with any questions and easy to get in contact with unlike other banks.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Cassie, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Best car insurance company EVER.

    I’ll tell you why I LOVE my car insurance company - they are saving me money. For an Early Childhood Educator who is already on a low income paying rent, bills & a car loan off - the last thing I wanted to do was fork out money for car insurance (and I tell you, I was not going to insure my car - just so I could have extra money to live off each week) until I spoke with ING (who I bank with) and they gave me the cheapest full comp I’ve ever been with. Not to mention that you get a 15% off discount if you already bank with them (money win!) My last car insurance company was Allianz and I was paying $190 full comp per month, ING I pay $60 FULL COMP. Say no more!

    Value for money
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Tamara, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    they are simply the best ever.

    except the charging price they are simply the best ever.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Johel, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • ING Car Insurance

    Service starts off ok and then deteriorates a lot.

    I have had to make a claim and it has worked out that I have to keep chasing everything up. Initial contact regarding the claim was good. The towing company sent me a message that they had gotten my car and were taking it to a repairer in Marrickville (30 kms away from where I live and this was done so repairs would be done faster. The accident happened on 3 November. However, I then had to call and see where things were up to. The initial person in claims had not put her phone extension number on the email nor letter advising me of things. She told me I didn't have to pay the excess yet. Then immediately sent me a letter that I did. I called and got a different person in claims and found out how to pay my excess and promptly did so. Then I got a letter saying please pay your excess and if you have, call this number. It was dated 5 November and it was already past that date again I noticed the original person had not given me a phone extension number. I phoned again to check that they had the excess. Yet another person assured me it had been received. That was three calls I made because I had not heard from the insurance company. I called the assessor department and spoke to someone who told me to call the repairer and sent through an email with the repairer's phone number etc. I called the repairer a few times until I got to speak to someone. They told me yes they had my car there and work was progressing. They told me that the estimated time of being fixed was 2 December. I called today since it was 2 December and I had heard nothing and had not been contacted by either the insurance company or the repairer. They told me they are waiting on a subframe part that had been back-ordered. They told me that they expect it maybe in mid-January and blamed COVID (convenient for lots of things). No one called to tell me this - not the insurance company nor the repairer. I had to call and find out myself. All this ringing around that I have had to do and anticipate that I will have lots more to do of it. Sorry, but I expect better. Reasonable premium rates alone don't cut it! As far as I can work out, the only way I find out anything is for me to be calling around. Otherwise they don't keep you updated and they don't care. I feel like I have been doing their job. I don't work for them, they should be working for me. I am very disappointed with all of this and I do not think much of ING nor the company that underwrites their insurance. They started off OK, but then have left it all to me to chase things up. Otherwise I would have no idea of what is going on.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jo, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Competitive and super friendly.

    Incredibly competitive rates and every time I have spoken to the customer service on the phone, they have been knowledgeable, helpful and really friendly.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Natalie, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    I am happy with ING for my car insurance

    I like ING and like that they remind to pay and send messages to pay not to expensive.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jacqui, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.