Athena logo

Athena Home loan customer reviews

Overall rating
6.9/10
Price
9.0/10
Features
7.5/10
Customer service
9.0/10
Convenience
9.1/10
Trust
8.4/10
Based on 14 Athena home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent Athena home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Athena Straight Up (Obliterate, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <50% LVR)

    Better home loan providers out there

    Increased interest rates higher than RBA rate increase amount which I thought was greedy as rates have been steadily increasing regularly.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Luke, South Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Athena

    As far as home loans go, Athena was great

    Refinance or new home loan? Check out Athena Home Loans, I’ve found them to be one of the lowest rates, good customer service and I love the fact they automatically drop our rate every time they lower the rate, no begging them, we are treated like new customers every time! Happy to be contacted for the referral code! Please use my code and we both get $500 off the home loan from Athena.

    Lt, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Athena Home Loan

    Great home loan!

    If you are looking for a new home loan or change home loans to Athena Home Loans then please use ATH-86432 and we both get $500 off the home loan from Athena. I’ve found them to be one of the lowest rates, good customer service and I love the fact they automatically drop our rate every time they lower the rate, no begging them, we are treated like new customers every time! Happy to be contacted for the referral code!

    Lt, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Athena

    The perfect lender

    Been with Athena for a year now, have to say they are the perfect lender because they respond to queries in a timely manner, have the lowest rates, pass on low rates to existing customers not just new ones and are constantly improving their services.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    James, Victoria, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • Athena

    Good lender. Athena referral code: ath-99993

    They were fast and efficient. I'm not sure they would be the best if you had complex loan needs, but if your ducks are in a row, and you want a low rate with zero fees I strongly recommend athena. I didn't know anyone already with athena when I joined and so I missed out on the referral bonus, but feel free to use my one: ath-99993 between both of us we save $500 off our loan (250 each)

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Babs, Queensland, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • Athena

    'Happy I made the switch' is selling Athena short

    Athena offer a brilliant variable home loan rate (which they even dropped for me and all their other customers equally the day after I settled) with no fees. To do this, they *could* skimp on customer service, but Athena have some of the best customer service I've ever experienced. I honestly couldn't be any happier with my choice to refinance with Athena. The application process was so simple, and reminder/update texts are sent every step of the way so I was always aware of what was happening. If you decide to go with Athena (please do, they really are wonderful!), include ATH-45414 within your application to receive 250 dollarydoos after settlement.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Andrew, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Athena

    Love the referral program!

    If you are looking to change home loans to Athena Home Loans then please use my referral code ATH-86432 and we both get $ in rewards from Athena. I’ve found them to be one of the lowest rates, good customer service and I love the fact they automatically drop our rate every time they lower the rate, no begging them, we are treated like new customers every time!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Happy home owner, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Athena Home Loan

    Excellent customer service, easy online process!

    Athena make the whole process really easy. Their online process is intuitive and allows you to sign everything digitally and upload documents without needing to do anything paper based. They even had someone meet me at work to verify my identification providing even further ease. They also provide ongoing incentives to encourage others to join. At the moment if you use this code ATH-62716 when you apply you get a $350 cash payment. they also continue to drop my interest rate with the market so I am not locked into the price I signed at. I was initially cautious about Athena as they aren't a traditional bank, and it's all done online, but after doing lots of research and starting the process i was very impressed with the customer service and it was easy! I wish i had done it earlier and saved even more on interest. I highly recommend Athena.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jason, South Australia, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Athena

    Awesome provider, wished I changed lenders earlier

    I'm 5 months into my home loan with Athena and the only regret I have is not leaving my previous lender earlier. I'm a single mum and I couldn't be happier with the customer service I received. Athena made it a smooth and quick process. As stated they pass the full rate cut straight away and a bonus surprise that I didn't know about, if you pay more off your loan they give you a bonus rate dropped. Don't waste your time and money with the big banks.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sue, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Athena

    Great loan provider and best rates by far.

    Athena are a fantastic group who have given the best rate and great service. They have consistently dropped the rate when the RBA do it. They are always easy to deal with when I have questions as well.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ryan, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Athena

    Waste of time

    What an absolute waste of time. I submitted a lengthy application. It cleary stated if you have multiple properties not to worry and it can all be handled via the team when they call you. My call was prompt the following day and apparently due to an IT error I am now supposed to submit 2 more applications for the separate properties answering essentially the same information. Not only this but I now have an enquiry on my credit file. Ill be taking this up with the FIO when i have time. Don't waste your time. I should have realised when i made my first call to the uneducated lady that couldn't assist with basic questions.

    Brendan, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Athena

    Great no frills home loan with a low variable rate

    Great no frills home loan with a very low variable interest rate and good customer service. Matched almost all RBA rate cuts in full. Rates stay the same for new and existing customers. Very good home loan provider.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Peter, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • Athena

    No frills, low cost

    No frills and very low rate home loans. Good history of passing on full rate cuts, and a guarantee that existing customers get the same deal as new ones. No fees either.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jeff, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • Athena

    Simple, easy, transparent and value for money.

    There is no hidden agenda with Athena. Their rates are clearly stated, what you see is what you get. It was such an easy process switching to them. They follow up each month with a reminder of when your payment is due and how much it will be, they also pass on rate cuts straight away and if they offer a better product to new customers, existing customers are offered the same deal.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Daniel, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      5.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      5.90% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      6.25% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      6.20% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discount Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      5.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discounted Home Value Loan

      interest rate
      6.09% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.09% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      6.29% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.20% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 462 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.