Home loan customer reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • ME Home Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Under Staffed

    Takes more than a month for a simple loan rate fix. They then fix the wrong loan with wrong rate. They tried to renege on the phone call that was made to fix the rate. You can never speak to a supervisor. Thank goodness for the AFCA Ombudsman.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Michael, Western Australia, reviewed about 12 hours ago
    More ME home loan customer reviews
  • St.George Home Loan

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    St George = terrible client relationship

    St. George provide competitively priced products but customer support is terrible. I recently sold my house with settlement occurring on 19 July. St George's representative collected the buyer's bank check at the settlement ceremony and released property to the buyer. It is now three days later and my internet banking account with St George is not reflecting that the mortgage has been discharged or credited my account with the balance from the sale. It took an hour on the phone to find out status of settlement. I was given some long winded answer about the delay being caused by one of the many teams in St George. I don't really care about internal operational delays at St George, there is no justification for the delay and a make good payment of interest payable for the three days should occur. On another occasion I was enquiring about a mortgage to purchase another property. St George does not allocate loan applications to a single relationship manager and as a result each time I called during the application process I had to start again with a new person. Further no ticket or reference number is generated and almost no information is retained in their CRM system. This is basic client relationship stuff! I get the sense that you have reduced your workforce and outsourced customer support to the Phillipines under cover if COVID all while collecting government support payments and cheap government funding which has assisted all banks to achieve record profits. St George's infrastructure appears outdated and your customer service model is not responsive. Like all banks St George is going to loose market share to the more agile non-bank sector. I will never deal directly with St George ever again.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    James, Western Australia, reviewed about 12 hours ago
    More St.George home loan customer reviews
  • Bankwest Home Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    I would not recommend bank west to my worst enemy

    I have been a bank west customer for just over 12 months now having multiple home loans with them and the terrible customer service and wait times on hold -- I would not recommend bank west to my worst enemy let alone a friend.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Shane, Queensland, reviewed about 12 hours ago
    More Bankwest home loan customer reviews
  • Teachers Mutual Bank Home Loan

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    ATTENTION DO NOT USE THIS BANK

    This bank was great until they decided to increase our 1.95% fixed interest rate to 2.14% on the settlement day of the purchase of our first home. They didn't even, call but gave us the information via email on settlement day. They said they contacted our broker prior to settlement, however this is false. It's safe to say this definitely put a dampener on what should have been a positive experience. My partner and I are first year teachers and this banks mantra of "supporting teachers" in my experience is rubbish and the complete contrary. Furthermore, they were rude, arrogant and not understanding at all on the phone. Not even willing to negotiate or help in anyway. Once our 4 year term is up we are 100% going elsewhere. Very negative experience.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Dylan, New South Wales, reviewed 4 days ago
    More Teachers Mutual Bank home loan customer reviews
  • ME Home Loan

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    ME the bank for us!

    We have had the best experience to date with ME. They have great products and Service and communication is exceptional.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Caryn, Victoria, reviewed 5 days ago
    More ME home loan customer reviews
  • Homestar Home Loan

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Cannot answer simple questions

    I'm not even a customer yet and it was just painful trying to get information form them. Their website isn't accurate and when you as their customer service team anything that is super basic it's met with a request for your phone for the hard sell. Why organise for someone to call me when we haven't even established something as basic as wether they do construction loans or not.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Less
    Daboid, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago
    More Homestar home loan customer reviews
  • ANZ Home Loan

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Excellent to deal with in tough times

    I ran into financial difficulties through some bad business deals and the ANZ helped us to work through this so that we are back on our feet now and I like to thank ANZ for this.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ulrich, Queensland, reviewed 5 days ago
    More ANZ home loan customer reviews
  • Resimac Home Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Waste your deposit, time and opportunities

    If you want to loss your deposit and time, go with this lender. Personal experience happy to share it more than 40 Days of games. Lost a real opportunity and money. They don’t care about your deadlines or loss. You will end up paying double interest rate if you add up your losses. Happy to proof it and shows you documents.I am AAA Credit rating.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Adam, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
    More Resimac home loan customer reviews
  • Bankwest Home Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst bank ever

    Always by far the worst bank I've ever dealt with. Changes my loan products without consent, deletes savings account without consent, when I have enquiries repeatedly gives them to staff on holidays, grossly undervalues property, the list goes on and on. Then out of the blue customer service calls up to fix things then goes MIA.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Doug, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
    More Bankwest home loan customer reviews
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Better options available

    Would not give me a loan because I wouldn't state whether I was married or not -it was like going back to the dark ages - very behind the times as I have the independent capacity to make my own financial decisions as a female and don't need a male to be part of my home loan. I could prove I had more than the capacity to repay the loan but they were not interested.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Gaye, Victoria, reviewed 8 days ago
    More Westpac home loan customer reviews
  • Aussie Home Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Dishonest and greedy

    Poor product and customer service. Dishonest brokers.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sam, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
    More Aussie home loan customer reviews
  • MyRate.com.au Home Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Avoid. Poor rates, no loyalty to current customers

    Avoid. Poor rates, no loyalty to current customers. Been with them for over ten years. Only competitive for new customers. I currently pay 3.99% P+I for a investment loan and I'm about to move away for comparison rate starting with a 1... I blame me for not shopping around earlier.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Udaya, Victoria, reviewed 8 days ago
    More MyRate.com.au home loan customer reviews
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan LVR (Principal & Interest, LVR <70%)

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Westpac do have very low interest rate.

    Westpac's service with our home loan is very good. With the fix rate we got, helps a lot with repayments. They call monthly to check on us and see if we need any other products. They customer service is excellent and would recommend to others. Our extended family members are also with Westpac after them asking about their service.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Emma, Queensland, reviewed 10 days ago
    More Westpac home loan customer reviews
  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    They don't care

    We have been customers with NAB for over 40 years. This doesn't matter to them neither do they care keeping long term customers or believe in flexibility.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Shari, Queensland, reviewed 10 days ago
    More NAB home loan customer reviews
  • Suncorp Home Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    You may have settlement delays..

    Avoid using this bank for a home loan. The company they use to handle settlements (First Mortgage Services) is completely useless. Our settlement has been delayed for over 2 months which caused us to have to pay about $4000 in land tax. When our conveyancer tried to speak with them to sort it out they are dealing with at least an hour on hold before speaking with anyone.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Anon, South Australia, reviewed 10 days ago
    More Suncorp home loan customer reviews
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.24% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 503 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.