Home loan customer reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Macquarie Home Loan

    Banks somewhere else, they charge loyalty tax

    The banks service has gone down hill. Now they give a 1300 number to ring and the wait times are awful. I've tried to get the bank to match the new customer home loan rate after being a loyal customer for 10 years and they keep refusing to review the rate. They are very poor in responding to emails and are very fast to raise rates when they can. Avoid at all costs.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tara, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 1 day ago
    More Macquarie home loan customer reviews
  • UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer for Investor (Interest Only, Investment)

    Avoid.

    Awful customer service. Very slow to deal with. String you along for a couple of weeks then find roadblocks to progress with loan application. You will loose contracts relying on this bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kris, Queensland, reviewed 1 day ago
    More UBank home loan customer reviews
  • Westpac Equity Access (Premier Advantage Package)

    very slow application service. poor customer care

    After losing a house i was about to purchase after the cooling off period being extended 3-4 times, purely because westpac weren't on the ball and didn't finish the application for 3 months, i have nothing but bad things to say about them. I would call them everyday asking to talk to someone but constantly being told "this application cannot be escalated any higher" or "i'm not authorised to give you that sort of information" or after being asked to get put through to a manager i would be told " im sorry im not allowed to do that". Each time i called i would be on the phone for at least half an hr before i could actually speak to someone. I lost my 0.25% deposit and i was lucky to get my 10% deposit back just because the vendor and real estate agent were so understanding. This one really made me have my doubts about westpac. But after the first application with them, I thought the 2nd application (for another house I eventually found) would be a lot quicker and easier as they already had all of my information. But that wasn't the case. I am currently in the process of the purchase of new house, and i was supposed to get the keys early this week, until westpac have told us they are not ready to proceed with the purchase (2 months after the offer was first accepted), luckily the vendor is happy to accept a extended settlement date by a week . But I still have my doubts that Westpac will have their shit sorted in time. they still dont give out information and still let you stay on hold for hours per week. I am not confident we will get our 10% deposit back this time and I am absolutely filthy with Westpac and their terrible service. I cannot explain the stress this has put me and my family under and I would not wish this on anyone. Strongly advise looking at any other bank other than westpac

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Luke, Victoria, reviewed 1 day ago
    More Westpac home loan customer reviews
  • State Custodians Home Loan

    Do not go to this company for a home loan!

    This is the worst lender I have ever encountered. They made me redo my application every 2-3 months - whenever I asked them a question. I was asked age-ist questions like 'how was I going to discharge the loan in 30 years after I retired?' - the only answer they would accept was to sell the house. I had to redo my budget to fit their preconception of my budget (so why ask me then?). I couldn't nominate a repayment amount above what they set. I finally got sick of their extremely poor service and refinanced. Their phone queue seems to be set to 30 minutes before transferring you to a human. After exactly 30 minutes, I had my identity verified then transferred to someone else who tried to talk me out of it. They disparaged all other lenders saying they were more expensive then they were (despite charging 2.95% compared to 1.99%). They then threatened me with having to pay over $3000 interest + a $345 exit fee, if I changed. I would advise you to go to someone else - do not believe the 5 star ratings, they must be employees or their family members! The company is completely despicable in my opinion.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Victor, New South Wales, reviewed 3 days ago
    More State Custodians home loan customer reviews
  • MyState Bank Home Loan

    Do not recommend

    Waited a very long time post a yes on pre approval - to then after supplying lots of extra documents to help support us they still denied us, despite our loan servicing is more then fine. We forgot to disclose a trade support loan of $2700 by a honest mistake as you pay additional $300 per week in next tax barrack to repay any HECS etc and had been paying that for 12 weeks so loan would of been paid back- updated work and filled out new tax deduction form not claiming it got at letter from work as per request from MyState. After waiting and waiting and doing everything they asked, getting letters for them that no bank would of asked for going out of our way as I was so excited to move from Westpac to MyState and give them my more the capable customer loyalty and service… plus also promised timelines to then be declined because of a wee mistake- it’s so not fair and have lost a valued customer. Made a complaint and yet to receive a call back.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jacinta, Victoria, reviewed 6 days ago
    More MyState Bank home loan customer reviews
  • AMO Australian Mortgage Options Home Loan

    Great service, repeat customer

    My husband and I have worked with Frank Collum from AMO on multiple occasions over the last 5 or 6 years, buying our own home, refinancing and buying an investment property. We would highly recommend Frank and his team to anyone looking to take out a loan or refinance an existing loan. He is very helpful, responsive and wonderful to work with. We'll certainly be reaching out to him again next time!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Inez, New South Wales, reviewed 9 days ago
    More AMO Australian Mortgage Options home loan customer reviews
  • ANZ Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <80% LVR)

    DON'T do it. ABSOLUTELY not worth it.

    After 5 weeks of stress, hoops, red tape we applied with Commonwealth bank who had everything done in 4 days. ANZ I have never been more sick to the stomach with anything. Buying a second home with a fully paid off house and 3 incomes for a loan of $250k should NEVER have been that hard. I will NOT consider you again.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Yolonda, Queensland, reviewed 10 days ago
    More ANZ home loan customer reviews
  • Westpac Home Loan

    2021 worth bank of the years

    Winner of the worst bank of 2021. The bank produces 4 home loans documents incorrectly about 4 times and each time I have to be put back in the queue. When it’s comes to settlement, they keeps asking me for additional documents on numerous occasions. I have to rescheduled settlement twice. On top of that I have to resigned all loans documents twice due to the errors with loans documents. To this date, our purchase is still not settled. The bank put me through so much stressed and anxiety in the last couple of months. I have gone through so much stressed today, I ran to the toilet and vomited.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nikki, Queensland, reviewed 12 days ago
    More Westpac home loan customer reviews
  • Bluestone Home Loan

    Interest moratorium

    Has any one asked for a moratorium on the interest during Covid. If so was it granted, and if not were you told why the answer was no. As any one asked for proof as to its Bluestone policy to refuse.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Alan, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago
    More Bluestone home loan customer reviews
  • Aussie Home Loan

    Aussie Gawler & Ben is the way to go!

    “Helpful, concise, friendly & genuine. Ben from Aussie Gawker helped me understand the process, gave me information I needed as I needed it so I could get everything together in an orderly fashion. Ben is super friendly, knowledgeable and understands my needs. I would recommend Ben to everyone.”

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jane, New South Wales, reviewed 12 days ago
    More Aussie home loan customer reviews
  • Mortgage Choice Home Loan

    Mortgage Choice in Narellan is amazing and helpful

    We would like to express our deep gratitude to (Mortgage Choice in Narellan) This week we finally have our loan funded. Our unique circumstances make the journey to get a home loan approval quite challenging, and things got even more complicated with the pandemic. Before dealing with Theresa, we contacted few different brokers and banks, even the bank where we have our savings (NAB). All of them proved to be very disappointing to us. Some didn't even bother to return our calls. Then we contacted Theresa, who turned our disappointments to hopes. From the beginning, she really showed that she cares about us. We even feel that she is like our own family who gives good advices and have our best interest at heart. Communication with Theresa is excellent! She informed us of each progress of our application promptly. She is very responsive and never make us feel bad asking her about anything. She has great knowledge and able to recommend the best product for our loan. We highly recommend Theresa to anyone looking to get a loan or refinance. We will also be returning to her for her advice when our fix term nearly ends. Thank you very much Theresa!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Justin, New South Wales, reviewed 12 days ago
    More Mortgage Choice home loan customer reviews
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan

    Fantastic Bank. Always has the customer in mind.

    I've been with Bank of Queensland for just on 30years now they are excellent they have helped through tough times always there for excellent customer service. And advice highly recommended. Keep up the good work and amazing customer service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jon, Queensland, reviewed 12 days ago
    More Bank of Queensland home loan customer reviews
  • People's Choice Home Loan

    Low Rates!

    A great not for profit bank with excellent low rates for my home loan.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Stef, Victoria, reviewed 18 days ago
    More People's Choice home loan customer reviews
  • NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Choice Package)

    $2000 cash back to refinance - no brainer !!!

    NAB refinanced my home loan with offset facility. Super easy to do and got a whopping $2000 cash bonus. No brainer as they also lowered the loan rate. Super happy with the refinance process and the added savings overall.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Domenic, Victoria, reviewed 19 days ago
    More NAB home loan customer reviews
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    Great Rates and outstanding Customer Services

    I read many reviews for Mortgage House on this platform. Looks like many or most of them are badly not satisfied which sounds interesting. The reason I am writing this review to share my experience with Mortgage House. I am MH customer for long time. Plus I have just refinance investment loans with them today. If you need outstanding Services ask for Jimmy Jain and owner of Mortgage House Mr. Ken. Regarding communication, I have not seen better company and system like Mortgage House. Not Jimmy only but very good other staff who are looking after your rate review request. Fee structure can be improved by Mortgage House but over all rates are great, Services are excellent, communication is spot on. I strongly recommend Mortgage House. I have confidence, you will be looked after by them for long run. They are far better than major 4 Banks and many online lenders. Keep in mind such lenders are private lenders and they want to make sure they provide best services to stay in game. Now a days online review make them successful in business and they do not want to mess up with their customer. Those who felt and did not like their services, i encourage to try one more time. I cannot thank Jimmy Jain for outstanding work he had done for getting best rates for my properties and maximum equity cash outs. I wish Mortgage House all the best for future.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nimesh, Victoria, reviewed 19 days ago
    More Mortgage House home loan customer reviews
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan Home Loan Package

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.87% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 504 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.