Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Love banking with Commonwealth Bank

    Process of applying for a Home Loan was easy, as was opening accounts and I love the phone app to manage my banking.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Emily, Victoria, reviewed about 10 hours ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Do yourself a favour and go to your local branch.

    Really great to deal with, checking in every through months. Really good and would recommend to anyone looking for a great deal!

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Allan, Queensland, reviewed 1 day ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Best experience with home loan

    Our home loan specialist was so friendly and helpful and the reason we didn’t go elsewhere.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Kirstie, Queensland, reviewed 2 days ago
  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, $150k+) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    A small fish that easily beats the big boys

    Bank Australia is local and they act like it. They build relationships with their customers and treat them as individuals. Their rates are better than the "Big 4" and their service is better too. The only downside is that they don't have as many branches, so sometimes you have to go out of your way to go to a branch. However, they do a lot of business by post, email or phone, so it's hardly an inconvenience.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Robyn louise, Victoria, reviewed 2 days ago
  • firstmac review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Awesome rate, products and customer service

    Firstmac not only provided a much lower interest rate, but since changing over to them they have been a dream to work with. Secure, user-friendly internet banking and mobile app. Superb customer service on the very few times I have had to ring them. Great rate, excellent products and wonderful customer service. Great to be able to acknowledge a wonderfully positive product.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Dan, New South Wales, reviewed 2 days ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Customer Service BAD.

    Had an issue with a stolen card, they could not even cancel my card. Then accused me of not calling and asking for it to be stopped! So while I have no access to the system, no card, no money, I call to see where my replacement card is. They said, "oh you didn't ask for a new card." Customer service person - very very rude. Not to mention a previous matter. I had to go online to dispute a transaction and it took them three weeks to get back to me. Come on! Now I can gladly say I have refinanced since that call.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Requel, New South Wales, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Heritage Bank Fixed Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Stay away.

    With Heritage for 18 years - never missed a payment. Need help but none forthcoming. People first, is as misleading as you’ll get.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mark, Queensland, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good bank but rates higher than other big banks.

    The fixed rates are quite high but my biggest problem is the lack of ATMs and branches. I live in a small country town with no branch or ATM only Australia post. Would be easier to have a branch or ATM back here.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Matthew, Victoria, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    BOQ has great customer service.

    They should demolish their 10 fees on their home loans and be more competitive with interest rates.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, Western Australia, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great customer service

    My first home loan and I’ve had plenty of questions along the way and every time I ring I get someone extremely patient and helpful.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sam, Victoria, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan Prime (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <80% LVR) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    No Customer Service

    Very poor customer service bordering on rudeness. We were never told that our loan with Adelaide bank would be controlled by Mortgage House and we could never get any answers. Took 7 weeks to get Mortgage House to discharge the loan to our new bank. Had to threaten them with AFCA.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Derrick, New South Wales, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great service, easy to find facilities.

    Great service and easy to find facilities.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Less
    Rebecca, Victoria, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Having a home loan manger/specialist is brilliant.

    I deal directly with a home loan manager, which I find very hands on and amazing. I really feel that they work for me and have my best interests at heart and not just making money for the bank. When Covid hit, I was contacted immediately to go through what I could do if I wanted or needed to. It felt great to have someone on my side. I would recommend them to anyone.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jacinta, Victoria, reviewed 8 days ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great service from Westpac.

    We switched from NAB to Westpac two years ago and their service was awesome. Really personal, gave us a brilliant rate and treated our busy little kids like stars every time we went in giving them gifts etc. It's all part of the sell I understand that, but they were more personal and much better with customers than NAB, ANZ and Commonwealth, who we have used previously for home loans. Thanks.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Matt, Queensland, reviewed 8 days ago
  • ME Flexible Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great customer service, efficient and helpful.

    All interaction with ME service officers have been helpful and good. Being an online bank, there is no branch we can go to if the need arises. The online servicing is mostly wonderful, however the lack of physical branches can be challenging if there are planned or unplanned system outages or issues with service.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Mel, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variableApply now to get this rate from 29 Nov
      comparison rate
      2.34% p.a.Apply now to get this rate from 29 Nov

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan Special Offer Home Package Plus

      interest rate
      1.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.94% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discount Fixed Rate

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.
      fixed 4 years
      comparison rate
      2.90% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 541 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.