Home loan customer reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Write a review

Search a review by:

Recent home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Avoid Westpac at all costs

    Westpac have proven to be completely incompetent, lied and their customer service is as poor as I've ever experienced. Even a complaint direct to the Managing Director proved a total waste of effort, as she never had the courtesy to even respond. Australia's worst bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ian, Victoria, reviewed 2 days ago
    More Westpac home loan customer reviews
  • Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<60%, Principal & Interest) (Package)

    Great service and comparable rates

    We have been with Macquarie for over a year and a half. We have our mortgage with them and combined offset bank accounts. They are very competitive in terms of their interest rate. They have great customer service and good services. We like the fact that we can have up to 7 separate offset accounts which we use to put separate savings aside for. We haven’t had any issues however I know their customer service is great.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tanya, Western Australia, reviewed 2 days ago
    More Macquarie home loan customer reviews
  • Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan LVR (Principal & Interest, LVR <70%)

    Where else but Westpac..

    Was going to leave the bank for better rates. Retention office made contact with us and provided interest rates much lower than all other banks. Now, I make contact annually direct to the retention office to try and get a better deal. Easy to deal with, contact was immediate by either phone or email. Initial set up of homeloan in branch was easy and Westpac employee was extremely helpful and genuinely wanting to help.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Renee, Victoria, reviewed 2 days ago
    More Westpac home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Find a bank that is better

    12 Months ago I called them because I was having trouble paying my home loan. I was upset because they had agreed to reduce the rate but before it could take effect they raised the rate again. The best they could do was transfer me to someone who could do nothing but offer to put me thru to the mental health line. 12 months later and rates have risen again and again. Not in line with the normal rate rise but just because they can. So much for giving help when needed. I'm still struggling and holding out until I move at the end of the year and move to a new bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Charelle, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Pepper Money Home Loan

    Ashlea

    High interest rate. Increases interest rates more than what RBA says.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Pitrelli, Victoria, reviewed 8 days ago
    More Pepper Money home loan customer reviews
  • NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, 70-80% LVR)

    Simply the best banking experience for 20 years.

    After visiting two brokers prior to coming to NAB, I wasn’t very hopeful starting the home loan process. My mother had recommended NAB for my home loan as I have been with the bank for a long time. I had a meeting with home loan specialist at the bank. He went through the accounts and paper work. Asked for my preference with property and what my needs were and how they can be met by the bank. Within two days I was given a pre-approval. The whole process of buying my first home was so quick and easy. Even now I get a call from the team every 3 or 6 months to have a mini review of my finances and future financial goals. I have never had such a great experience. I opened my account with NAB when i was 16 and now I am 36. I have never till date had any bad experience!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Amandeep, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
    More NAB home loan customer reviews
  • Suncorp Home Loan

    Products to suit most people, gold star service

    I cannot think of any cons with Suncorp. For me they are a great fit. Very helpful staff, and a competitive loan rate.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Caroline, Queensland, reviewed 14 days ago
    More Suncorp home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package)

    We have never had any recent problems with the ban

    We recently approached comm back to refinance and consolidate debt. The person that was representing said bank did not show interest nor have good customer service. We easily could accommodate what we were asking. It was like he wasn't interested in our custom or his job or both? Cheers Andy

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed 14 days ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Bank of Melbourne Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<70%)

    Overall had a good experience with this bank.

    From the beginning we built our trust and they were also able to fulfill our needs. But with the increasing rates of interest, budget is getting all over the place. Seems like this is getting hard to stick with this bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Joe, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
    More Bank of Melbourne home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <60%) (Wealth Package)

    Australian, Competitive. Transparent, freedom

    I wish to remain with Australian banks for all my money needs for so money reasons rejecting lower rates from international banks. The interest rate is competitive, online access give transparency, offset accounts give me freedom without sacrifice

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Benjamin, Western Australia, reviewed 14 days ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <60%) (Wealth Package)

    Fantastic Bank.

    After banking with another bank for over a decade, our home loan was approved by CommBank, and we couldn’t be happier with the service that we have received since almost 2 years later. If we have a question about something in our mortgage, it is explained in detail, and not in “bank speak”

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kylie, Queensland, reviewed 14 days ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Suncorp Home Loan

    Excellent service, good bank

    When signing up with them we were given a concierge to look after us. Although we don't have a branch nearby there's alot of services that can be used online or even over the phone. The customer service has been fantastic.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kevin, Western Australia, reviewed 14 days ago
    More Suncorp home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package)

    Great at signing you up but no ongoing care factor

    The ongoing care factor needs to be worked on by this bank for home loan customers. During the sign up for the Homeloan mortgage the lender is responsive to your. Alls and text. As soon as it’s drawn down Nd they’ve got their tick for the sale they don’t care anymore. Emails go I responded to and branch staff need to make an appointment and can barely help you with information. A lot of directing back on line. This is why people prefer brokers. Because brokers continue to answer your call and help you. But they have to second hand get information and contacts to get me information when I should be able to get it from my bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Julia, New South Wales, reviewed 14 days ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Macquarie Home Loan

    Great customer experience and technology platform

    Macquarie is an awesome bank with a great digital interface, great products and has their back office streamlined to expedite approvals. The app is feature packed, customer services prompt through all channels, and queries resolved satisfactorily. I use Macquarie for both personal and business banking and they are recommended for both, with added bonus their products are well priced. I would highly recommend them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Darren, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
    More Macquarie home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    User friendly and has great customer service

    I like CBA because they have 24/7 customer service. If you are overseas you can call for assistance. I also like that their customer service is based in Australia. I don’t like that I receive a notification to my cba app every time I purchase something online. The little red notification icon annoys me. I’d prefer to receive a text message with a code that I can easily delete. I also don’t like that you can’t have two Netbank numbers so you can separate personal and work. I work for a company that banks with cba and I have to have all my work related things on my personal log on.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Taila, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Home Fixed Rate

      interest rate
      5.80% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      6.05% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      5.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      5.90% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Ultra Low Rate <95% LVR

      interest rate
      6.30% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.58% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Home Variable Rate

      interest rate
      6.15% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.15% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Straight Up

      interest rate
      6.24% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.24% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 465 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.