Home loan customer reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan LVR (Principal & Interest, LVR <70%)

    Poor customer service and worst bank in Australia

    Never trust the banking app and the repayments requirements for a loan through the app. Never contact the customer for missed or shortfall in repayment. The bank will let it go until it damages your credit rating. Worst customer service.

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jijin, New South Wales, reviewed 22 days ago
    More Westpac home loan customer reviews
  • Bankwest Complete Fixed Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package)

    The best bank

    I came over to BankWest 6 months ago and it is the best decision I made. Easy online banking, amazing service, great home loans, the best online chat assistance. The best bank, totally recommended.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Bee, New South Wales, reviewed 25 days ago
    More Bankwest home loan customer reviews
  • ANZ Home Loan

    Smooth process and good customer service

    Smooth process and good customer service

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Cindy, New South Wales, reviewed 27 days ago
    More ANZ home loan customer reviews
  • Pepper Money Home Loan

    Easy, Professional and fast

    Pepper Money have been professional from beginning to end. Their communication in their process has been second to none. I don't have the best credit history, yet they were accommodating. They are fast with their service and disclose all fees before 'electronically' signing on the dotted line.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Daina, South Australia, reviewed 27 days ago
    More Pepper Money home loan customer reviews
  • Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan (Principal & Interest)

    Friendly helpful service, compapratable rate

    Very helpful especially when in hardship looking for solutions and allowing time to get back on my feet. Easy to apply for a lower rate though would have been great if this was automatic. Friendly non-judgemental staff.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Selena, Western Australia, reviewed about 2 months ago
    More Westpac home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package)

    Great service when you enter a branch.

    I like this Bank because it is trustworthy. I could get lower rates elsewhere but they were prepared to negotiate when asked so I was happy with that. The only problem was that it took 3 phone calls to reduce my interest rates. The third person I spoke to offered to split my loan and fix a portion of it which gave me a lower interest rate. This was great but annoying that the other two employees did not suggest this to me when I had spoken to them several months to a year earlier.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Donna, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package)

    Deceptive and onerous.

    The wealth package is somewhat deceiving as it implies that the customer will automatically receive the best interest rates as per when the loan was initiated. Unfortunately, the customer must request (on potentially more than one occassion as rates change) to receive the lowest interest rate equal to the rate advertised to new customers. This does not reward loyalty and requires continuous monitoring by the customer. Disappointing.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kelly, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Bank First Complete Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    Great customer service & competitive rates

    I find Bank First to have competitive rates on their mortgage loans. Whenever I’ve had an issue or query, they’ve been easy to contact & the person I’ve dealt with has been friendly & able to rectify the situation/problem. I’ve banked with them for almost 20 years & wouldn’t dream of swapping to another bank, especially not a Big 4 bank. The only thing I’d mark them down on is the fact that there are no actual branches anywhere except Melbourne, & I live in regional Vic.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Bron, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
    More Bank First home loan customer reviews
  • NAB Home Loan

    Dont trust any bank will follow up on sales talk

    I dont like the fact that we were told a person was to be our personal banker handling the loan and that they would ensure as things changed we would get the best value and that they would review the loan regularly and let us know of any improved services.. Well after about 5 years of no bank contact we were noticing they were advertising a lower rate than we were on and so we went shopping to find we were several percent higher than market , we found the best deal our self and approached them to say we were closing and changing they offered to match the new rates and only as it would save us a lot of adjustments and changes we stayed, but that was what they were promising to do and it had cost us thousands of dollars in interest. We liked that they would loan on a property over 50 acres even though it was just a lifestyle situation in a rural area most banks would not.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Russell, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
    More NAB home loan customer reviews
  • ANZ Home Loan

    Would recommend.

    Excellent bank. Products and features are good. Rates slowly rising especially for investment. Account fees remain the same.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lindsay, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
    More ANZ home loan customer reviews
  • Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, Interest Only, LVR<70%)

    The Best Customer Service that I ever had in Oz

    I’m so happy with Macquarie Bank, they have the best Customer Service of any Bank that I have used in Australia. Is so easy to deal with Macquarie by Phone, that I never hesitate to call them when I need to change something. The waiting times are reasonable and also the knowledge of the person on the other side of the line excellent. On top of that, Macquarie provides with very good rates, better than the big 4 and quite competitive with the new financial startups.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Luis, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
    More Macquarie home loan customer reviews
  • ANZ Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%)

    Great contact to review personal circumstances

    This bank has many ATMs available. I have 2 mortgages through this bank and have had very easy dealings to establish and review my home loans. The bank will occasionally (maybe once per year) contact me to see if I would like to discuss opportunities to reduce interest rates, make changes to any other accounts or investigate better options for me.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Janine, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
    More ANZ home loan customer reviews
  • ANZ Home Loan

    Trustworthy bank

    The Branch Manager at Myrtleford is exceptional. Fantastic customer service, will always support you, go s above and beyond and is very trustworthy.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Laura, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
    More ANZ home loan customer reviews
  • People's Choice Home Loan

    Would use again

    Brilliant customer service, simple application process. Highly recommended.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jeremy, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
    More People's Choice home loan customer reviews
  • Athena Celebrate Variable Home Loan (<60% LVR, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Good lender. Athena referral code: ath-99993

    They were fast and efficient. I'm not sure they would be the best if you had complex loan needs, but if your ducks are in a row, and you want a low rate with zero fees I strongly recommend athena. I didn't know anyone already with athena when I joined and so I missed out on the referral bonus, but feel free to use my one: ath-99993 between both of us we save $500 off our loan (250 each)

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Babs, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
    More Athena home loan customer reviews
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.10% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.50% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.46% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.14% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.14% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Neat Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.89% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.90% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.39% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.39% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.24% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.24% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 474 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.