Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • ANZ Simplicity PLUS Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR >80%) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    They are doing a good job.

    They helped me a lot when my ID was stolen and I had lost much money (which I got back thanks to them). Also they gave us a much reduced home loan interest rate.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jess, South Australia, reviewed about 15 hours ago
  • Pepper Money Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Amazing Service

    The team at Pepper are always incredibly helpful in any dealings that I have with them.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    George, Victoria, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    AWFUL!

    Worst bank ever! We will be taking our business elsewhere!

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Karen, Western Australia, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Aussie Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Had their day

    I have tried to get an appointment with Aussie at west end in Brisbane for a business loan. Very poor service.not very helpful and when I was able to talk to someone, was the admin who said she would send through some paperwork prior to a meeting. Two weeks later no paperwork work and a canceled meeting. Nice work Aussie.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Less
    Craig, Queensland, reviewed 14 days ago
  • CUA Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Absolutely worst experience with a bank

    Building on our children's property to the value of R500 000 +(a very large extension) we wanted to go on title on the property. I approached their mortgage broker on the 5th November 2020 to get this organised. Because they have a mortgage on the property CUA required us to be on the loan (all title holders have to be on the loan if there is a mortgage). We all had to apply for a new loan. This loan was not going to change at all i.e. my husband and I were not going to borrow any money from CUA, just use our own savings to build. They also required us to put money into the loan to get title even though we are going to add so much value to the property - in fact more than the percentage we are asking for. Well we are still waiting. 3 months and 6 days have passed. We still don't have title to the property. I have done everything they have asked - filled in all their forms, paid in the money. Our build was postponed as we need to be on title to build. We are probably incurring delay costs. This is just unbelievable!!!. We require nothing from CUA and yet they are pushing us around to such an extent. At one point they even asked for all our savings so that they could control the build (i.e. the invoicing and receipting) They wanted all of our savings! As said above, we are not borrowing a cent from them and the control they want over us is just unwarranted!

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Karene, Queensland, reviewed 14 days ago
  • ANZ Simplicity PLUS Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR >80%) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Feels human. Definitely good lender for women.

    Homeloan pre approval process is thorough and straightforward. You get just the one person to deal with who sticks with you if you decide to fully apply. Loan application proper is very easy if you've already done pre approval. And you'll still get the same loans officer as pre approval which is fantastic. I bought a house during covid19 in Victorian lockdown and ANZ had a workable solution for every situation that cropped up. Interest rates are not the best, not the the worst, but they are truly all over customer service and understanding any unique situations or needs that crop up. Really good bank (for home loans) for women of all ages. I highly recommend.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Isabella, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
  • CUA Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Stay clear!

    OMG! Where should I start- don't touch them! We transferred our investment loan to them Because they didn't charge extra for investment loans and assured us that there weren't plans to change that even though the company we were with and most other companies had- well that lasted long enough to get the loan set up then- you guessed it they changed. We moved from a variable account to a one year fixed term with no charges but when the year was up there were charges no matter we decided to do- fixed term again or variable they wanted to charge hundreds to 'set it up'. Trying to speak to someone is a nightmare - if you don't have at least half an hour to spare for them to actually answer the call don't even bother trying! Then we decided we'd had enough of extra charges and poor customer service and decided to look elsewhere- our new loan is 2% less! saving us thousands, but they struck again! The signed loan contract stated that the discharge fee would be $200- no .... they changed it to $500!!!Apparently a signed contract doesn't mean a thing- they can charge whatever they like- Even the big banks only charge $250! What a rip off! Stay clear!

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Suzanne, New South Wales, reviewed 16 days ago
  • BankSA Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Very bad treatment of all pensioners, with loans

    I have been a Bank SA customer for 51 years. My wife and I are on Disability Pensions, we own everything and owe nothing, but can't get a loan! We even own our own land and a small cottage that we just wanted to upgrade. Bank S.A would not lend us $30,000 through a equity loan and would only lend us $2,000 as a personal loan when we have more money than that in the bank. We are absolutely disgusted in their service, they said a loans officer would ring us on Monday after 11am, they tried to call the Friday before and of course I was unavailable. Then when they did call on Monday it was not a loans officer, it was just someone after more information, that we already told them on the Thursday prior at our local branch over a computer conference. At that first appointment they told us we could probably get a home loan for $30,000 and that a loans officer would call on Monday to confirm details and let us know what we could borrow and what the interest rates were. Well the person that called did not know anything, so the person we spoke to on the computer had not relayed any information to the second person. That is terrible communication. They shut us down anyway, saying that they can only lend up to 95% of the current house and land value which was $27,500. But they don't take into account that we OWN it, we don't have to repay anything. Plus I have $20,000 of super that they don't consider as collateral. Offering us a $2,000 personal loan was an insult, when I have $1,500 in cash and $5,000 in the bank plus 2 cars and a caravan. All in all I have a fantastic credit rating and my wife and I are angry and upset over the way we were just shot down as if we were TRASH. Bank S.A you haven't heard the last of this. Expect an official letter of complaint and also contact with our local MP.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Rob, South Australia, reviewed 16 days ago
  • AIMS Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    I regret signing with AIMS - STAY AWAY don't do it

    I regret ever signing with these people. I'm in Sydney and I tried everything for them to contact me when my partner died. They didn't care. The emails from Jim Miltadas was so rude. Threaten me with reposession constantly and my account was paid in advance with 3000 available for withdrawal. This is not the lender you want, go elsewhere. I was desperate and now i regret. very unprofessional you can't work with them. stay away I'm advising you now.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Dara, New South Wales, reviewed 16 days ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great service and competitive prices

    We have had a really good experience with FirstMac - they have been really easy to deal with and supported us through through the whole process! Highly recommend.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Emma, New South Wales, reviewed 16 days ago
  • firstmac Basic 80 (Broker Special) (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Refinanced & had lower interest through Firstmac

    Got my broker to assist with the process. Fairly easy to use the online system. Had a few delays about the settlement dates which could have been caused by my previous provider. In general, I am happy with the current interest rate. Contacted customer service twice and had no issues with them.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Vicky, New South Wales, reviewed 16 days ago
  • Bank Australia Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great Experience

    Great experience with Bank Australia. From the first step everything was very well organised and clear. They did a great job answering all questions that I had and aways made herself available when I had a question. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a home loan.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Alex, Western Australia, reviewed 21 days ago
  • RAMS Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent customer service . I highly recommend.

    I highly recommend Rams. I went to Rams home loans Arundel on the Goldcoast. I seen Ronald McBean he made the whole process of buying our home a dream . He was professional reliable trust worthy and helped me through the process step by step . I was always informed of what I needed to do & how the process was tracking . Nothing was a problem excellent customer service by all the team at the Arundel Office .

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Selina, Queensland, reviewed 21 days ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Stay away from this so-called lending company

    Stay away from this company in general. Extremely high class customer service (one dedicated person) to adhere to all your needs until you get your loan or refinance with them but Straight after that it is a steep downward slope Until customer service hits rock bottom. No communication whatsoever and all the funds mishandled without notifying the customer and no one person/ department to deal with. You have to keep running pillar to post to seek solutions and answers to your questions. Stay away from these guys or look elsewhere and it will easily be a better experience I am sure.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mel, New South Wales, reviewed 16 days ago
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Charlie Azzi is totally dedicated and caring.

    I have been very fortunate to have Charlie Azzi from Aussie as my mortgage broker for over 5 years. I have found him to be very sincere, diligent, caring and professional every step of the journey. He has researched and renegotiated several home loans for me and managed to secure spectacular results on my behalf. He is extremely thorough in everything he does. His calm nature is reassuring and gives me peace of mind. I will benefit from his dedication for decades to come.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Anyce, New South Wales, reviewed 21 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.56% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.34% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Special Offer Reward Me Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.04% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.73% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 535 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.