Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great online banking system

    CBA offers some great competitive rates, a really use friendly and great online banking system and app, and offers as many offset accounts as you like.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, New South Wales, reviewed about 10 hours ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Wouldn't bank anywhere else.

    Great service, friendly staff, fair interest rates.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mary, Northern Territory, reviewed 1 day ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great customer service & competitive interest rate

    The Bankwest home loan customer service is top notch. I called to fix my interest rate and the bank officer talked me through the process. I had to put additional funds in, so I called him a few months later when I had the funds ready and he helped me in 2 minutes over the phone! They always call back when you leave a message and I think their fixed rate is very competitive. Awesome service so far.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Kirra, New South Wales, reviewed 1 day ago
  • ANZ Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very flexible loan account.

    I have been with ANZ for more than 30 years. My variable rate home loan has an offset account, a redraw facility and no fees. I find it works well as we don’t pay any interest and we can redraw online at our own convenience.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Scott, Tasmania, reviewed 1 day ago
  • Suncorp Standard Variable Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Reputable.

    They are easy to contact and have a good reputation.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Juliette, South Australia, reviewed 1 day ago
  • Virgin Money Reward Me Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Interest rates good but response is slow.

    When contacting about home loan they are slow to respond. Online access does not show interest rate and when contacting them by phone it takes weeks to get a response via email. Virgin has not been able to provide a debit card to access our savings. Instead if we need cash we have to transfer to an account we have with another bank and then withdraw from that bank. Credit card transactions are slow. They show as pending for days before appearing properly, only primary card holder can see all credit transactions. With online access other card holders can only see their own transactions and not all.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, Queensland, reviewed 1 day ago
  • Suncorp Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Fabulous.

    Got a great rate - 2.89% - and locked it in for 3 years. Gives great peace of mind for budgeting and it's all mine!

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Trish, Queensland, reviewed 1 day ago
  • Bankwest Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very satisfied and would recommend services.

    I like my bank as you are able to pick up the phone and speak to a support person when needed. Prime example as I was in Bali early this year and I transferred money to my son in Australia with no qualms but when completed had major doubts about what I had done and how safe it may have been. My husband jumped on the phone and rang Bankwest and immediately they took care to make sure our accounts were protected.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lorraine, Victoria, reviewed 1 day ago
  • Liberty Star Home Loan Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Non competitive rates.

    We appreciate the bank as they give loans even though income is not high, however their interest rate is very high comparatively.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Arputha, Victoria, reviewed 1 day ago
  • Bendigo Bank Complete Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, 60-80% LVR) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great bank.

    I love the bank as the customer service is very good.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Suzi, Victoria, reviewed 1 day ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive rates

    Commonwealth bank have competitive rates and extra features with their home loans like extra repayments and redraw option which is a great way to have back up savings for an emergency you can draw on. You can also keep track of your home loan on their commbank app.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Rebecca, South Australia, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <80% LVR) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst Banking experience

    By far the worst banking experience I have ever come into contact with. Do not use this bank, save yourself the heartache. Try anyone else.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Gary, Victoria, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Lost trust

    I just renewed my mortgage interest rate. They offered me 2.29% for three years so I just ignored offers form other banks and stayed with Westpack but after the paperwork, record shows that they renewed for only two years for 2.29% and I asked why. I was told that they got mixed up and apologised. Then they said they are ready to change it to three years but I need to pay $711 for break up fees and also they can only give 2.59% for three years because the old offer was not available at this stage. They gave some confusing calculations. I lost all trust and felt like I was cheated.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Very bad bank

    Very bad.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mathew, New South Wales, reviewed 7 days ago
  • ANZ Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    ANZ bank( ruining people’s dream )

    Don't go with ANZ bank for home loans as they take a long time to approve. Banks are there to build your dream towards homes but they are ruining people’s life. I had to get an extension twice from my seller but they are still not processing my application after 34 days. Now I feel like I have to loose my dream bcos of bad business practice.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mehul, Queensland, reviewed 7 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Mortgage Simplifier

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.62% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.49% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.49% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      2.98% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan Special Offer Home Package Plus

      interest rate
      2.29% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.28% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Smart Home Loan 80

      interest rate
      2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.50% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 545 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.