St.George logo

St.George Home loan customer reviews

Overall rating
6.9/10
Price
6.6/10
Features
6.3/10
Customer service
7.1/10
Convenience
7.4/10
Trust
6.9/10
Based on 1559 St.George home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent St.George home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • St.George Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR 70-80%)

    Great overall

    Package is good, no local branch, but alternatives available, on line is great.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sogna, Western Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • St.George Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<70%) (Advantage Package)

    First Home Loan made easy

    I have recently taken out a home loan with St George and it has been so easy and quick. I haven’t banked with St George previously but so far they have exceeded my expectations!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Amy, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<70%) (Advantage Package)

    Very happy!

    We started our home loan with St George (because we could use a guarantor), we then refinanced with someone else but have come back now to St George We received a $4,000 cash back offer and the fixed rate was very reasonable at the time Not looking forward to when this goes back to variable next year! Overall very happy with St George

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Aliza, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    Needs a lot of improvement with their technology

    Do not like the banking app , not transparent with the offset account feels like you are losing money sometimes , the app is all over the place and not intuitive to the user , comparing with other people my home loan is one of the higher ones.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Benjamin, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • St.George Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<70%)

    High Interest Rates

    The bank does not change interest rates if you are struggling when the interest rates are so high.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ami, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    Trustworthy overall.

    They have been hassle free and have great customer service. Cons are they still sent out mail- i would prefer fully digital communications. I also wish there wasn't an annual fee for home loan product.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Krissy, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    Ok as far as banks go but nothing great.

    Overall St. George is ok. Have had some difficulties when asking them to release funds for builder. Takes longer than it should. Wait times for calls are long and don't always get the answers I'm looking for.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jennifer, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    Has a good mortgage rate and cash bonus .

    Has a good mortgage rate and cash bonus .

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dean, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    Poor Customer considerations

    They are quick to up the Interest and do not take into account that you have Offset Account. They are in the mid to high end of Interest Rates out there. If I wasn't in a place of paying out the Loan in the next 2 years I would change provider. They are not prepared to give a better rate no matter what you do. I would not recommend them to others.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kevin, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    St.George have been great to deal with

    Dealing with St.George has been great. We just completed our second renewal of our loans with a refinance, and they where able to drop the interest rates a fair bit on our reseign over the current open market rate, giving us confidence and desire to keep our loans with St.George. The staff has always been really good to deal with and I am lucky that I have a branch reasonably close for paperwork or dealing with things in person. Depositing money into the ATM's can be a little harder though as that is only able to be done at a few key locations for cash deposits, though normal every day banking you get full use of westpac ATM's too.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Shaun, Queensland, reviewed 9 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    No loyalty these days

    The only positive is having plenty of branches to speak to people face to face but they do not seem interested in a small lender, no concerns with me looking around for another loan and unwilling to match more competitive rates. After 10 years as a st George customer I am looking to change lenders.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Christopher, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • St.George Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR 70-80%)

    Look around first, their rates are high

    Their interest rates are higher than most banks. They are extremely quick to raise the rates.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Marijana, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    Just like all other banks now

    I love the service, convenience and most features St George offers with their home loan packages yet lately, they have not been competitive with their pricing and their rates are extremely high. They have also merged with Westpac which is causing some technical issues only as of late.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jenny, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • St.George Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<70%) (Advantage Package)

    Trustworthy bank with pleasing advantage package.

    St George Bank overall feel is and presents like a reliable and trustworthy bank. Their web and mobile site for online banking and managing home loans is user friendly and inviting. Their variable home loan rate is by no mean competitive, although having multiple offset accounts feel less advantageous able seems to counter the otherwise average rates. Customer service can be hit and miss, however, I have been supported in getting lower rates and was informed about elements of the advantage package I'd never known. I wish I knew and understood all the benefits and potential of the advantage package more clearly from the get-go.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rebecca, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    Very happy with St. George for our home loan

    Very happy with St. George for our home loan, the pricing was very competitive and we managed to get a review a year later, dropping the rate even further. The customer service has always been super-friendly and helpful and helped us resolve any issues usually on first contact. The only two downsides would be the physical locations are getting less and less, but this is the case with all banks unfortunately, and also their internet banking could be a lot better. The app is fine, easy to use and looks pretty decent, but their desktop website interface is rather old-fashioned and clunky.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Matej, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      5.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      5.90% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      6.25% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      6.20% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discount Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      5.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discounted Home Value Loan

      interest rate
      6.09% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.09% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      6.29% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.20% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 462 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.