Car insurance customer reviews

Read the latest car insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their car insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Suncorp Insurance Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    AVOID SUNCORP

    The worst! I have never encountered such incompetence in my life in customer service. I was passed from one person to the next none of whom were able to actually assist and just kept passing on and solving nothing while I had to call back six times and things they promised remained unactioned! Don’t waste your time with suncorp insurance! Endless frustration!

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Alex, New South Wales, reviewed 1 day ago
    More Suncorp Insurance car insurance customer reviews
  • ING Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst possible service

    If you are ever in a situation to make a claim, this is the worst insurance to have. Do not recommend at all. I was involved in a car accident over 4 weeks ago. My car was in the holding yard for 2 weeks. In third week it was towed to the mechanic. Two weeks later, the mechanic has still not quoted the work. Just called the ING assessment centre, they can't say anything because they have no idea what needs to be done. Almost 5 weeks and we have not moved anywhere. I have no car, I have no way of getting around. Pathetic, ridiculous and the last thing you want. after being in a car accident. Nobody really cares. Will never go with ING again and will advise everyone I know not to even consider it.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Julka, Western Australia, reviewed 4 days ago
    More ING car insurance customer reviews
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Major rip off

    Watch the fine print. They try and suck you in with discounts then up goes the price. They'd require that I'd pay an excess (not recoverable) for a claim for damage due to contaminated fuel even if they'd recover it from the supplier. This is a blatant rip off. In most other cases where an at fault party is identified and costs are recoverable the excess is reimbursed.

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Bill, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago
    More AAMI car insurance customer reviews
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Go for other insurance if you need one

    My claim took 3m+, they will find all possible reasons to reject your claim even things that yourself possible can't proof. For example, your left your keys "immediate vicinity" of your car car, keys are "recently" cut etc. All these terms "immediate vicinity" and "recently" are all their doggy terms just beware.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Hon, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago
    More Budget Direct car insurance customer reviews
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Stay clear. Only good if you don't claim

    Great until you make a claim. Stay clear, no communication and only hear from them when they take the excess payment otherwise nothing. Waiting 2 months so far and still nothing.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mt, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
    More Budget Direct car insurance customer reviews
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Please stop ridiculous advertising

    Aami please reduce our Annual Premiums, rather than increasing them. How could this be done...? Stop wasting our money on ridiculous Tv Advertising, which annoys all of your customers.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Less
    David, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
    More AAMI car insurance customer reviews
  • Youi Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Not to be trusted

    My daughter's partner had an accident with the car as they had an argument. The police tested him and A-ok. Youi refused to pay saying they don't cover a domestic...IT WAS AN ACCIDENT AS HE SWERVED FOR AN ANIMAL. Be very careful with Youi.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jasmine, Queensland, reviewed 8 days ago
    More Youi car insurance customer reviews
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Dishonest and predatory

    APIA marketing to the elderly is dishonest and predatory and needs to be dealt with the same as what the banks did to many customer's before the royal commissions findings . As their cognitive abilities decline they keep signing them up to over priced insurance contracts. I recommend that all families and carers look at the last five years of policies and see what they are being charged. It's a disgrace and damming on the insurance governing bodies federally and state wide to have this insurance company which is under written by GIO to allow this form of elder abuse to flourish at the expense of the community that cares for their ageing parents and loved ones.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed 9 days ago
    More Apia car insurance customer reviews
  • Coles Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    TO HELL AND BACK ,and still no car

    Coles insurance have done nothing to support me in getting my car repaired with THEIR approved repairer, just the run around, never again, 5 weeks and still no car, my god they give excuses about parts. A bumper bar replacement thats it, I wander if the CEO insures with Coles.. NOT

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Joseph, New South Wales, reviewed 9 days ago
    More Coles car insurance customer reviews
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Budget Direct be very cautious before selecting

    Please be cautious about selecting Budget Direct I took 4 cars which were insured with Allianz for so many years mainly due to pricing. But once I heard all the hidden features they don't offer like NCB protection on Rating 1, No refunds on prepaid cancelled polices on a monthly direct debit payment and only offer market value not agreed value.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Dennis, Victoria, reviewed 10 days ago
    More Budget Direct car insurance customer reviews
  • Allianz Car Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    A good company to be with.

    A good company to be with. Customer service and claims handling are done exceptionally well.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Robert, Victoria, reviewed 10 days ago
    More Allianz car insurance customer reviews
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Too expensive

    Policy for the exact same car and driver is just over $100 more expensive than anyone else we've called. Went with RACV instead.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Claims handling
    6 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Gary, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago
    More Budget Direct car insurance customer reviews
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    No care with following Insurance claims

    Had car accident, reluctantly accepted Budget Direct Repairer, took 4 months before getting car back. It came back in unsafe and unroadworthy condition. Budget Direct gave zero interest, no follow up and dismissive. Air bags not working, computer codes not cleared, Panel and paint of average quality, and as stated above took 4 months before getting car back! This is our family car with a 3 year old and new born baby that is very precious and to get car back in unsafe and as already stated unroadworthy, and Budget wiped their hands, did absolutely nothing to rectify or even offer to rectify what is completely 100% in their control. Shameful and superficial on Budget’s behalf. No real care and absolutely no responsibility taken. Just happy to take your money.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Policy coverage
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Tony, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago
    More Budget Direct car insurance customer reviews
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Terrible. Do not recommend

    Customer service experience was terrible. Took 6 weeks to deem my vehicle as a write-off (which I could have told you). In the 6 weeks, no one from Budget got in contact with me to keep me informed. I had to go out of my way every week/second week to call and follow up (on hold for an hour each time). I was told several times I’d receive a call back on a particular day which would never happen. Absolutely poor customer service, would not recommend.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Tash, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago
    More Budget Direct car insurance customer reviews
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent service from RACQ insurance.

    Been with RACQ for over 50 years with car insurance and had a couple of claims that were always handled efficiently and quickly with no fuss.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Bryan, Queensland, reviewed 12 days ago
    More RACQ car insurance customer reviews
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.