Car insurance customer reviews

Read the latest car insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their car insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Write a review

Search a review by:

Recent car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • GIO Car Insurance

    Excellent Service

    GIO give excellent service and coverage but the pricing is a bit high. They do go out of their way, to assist you.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Geoffrey, New South Wales, reviewed 14 days ago
    More GIO car insurance customer reviews
  • Everyday Insurance from Woolworths Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Insurer of the year

    Love the promotion and Amazing customer service

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Tj, Victoria, reviewed 30 days ago
    More Everyday Insurance from Woolworths car insurance customer reviews
  • NRMA Comprehensive Plus Car Insurance

    Online services

    Great easy claims online

    Value for money
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Renae, New South Wales, reviewed 30 days ago
    More NRMA car insurance customer reviews
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Budget Direct customer review

    I have used Budget Direct for 5+ years and always been very happy with them. They're always competitive with their pricing and have great customer service. Very happy with Budget Direct!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Jen, New South Wales, reviewed 30 days ago
    More Budget Direct car insurance customer reviews
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Worst car insurance company

    I don't recommend Budget Direct. It might be cheaper than some but nasty when it came to claim. I have been a member with them since 2016 for full car comprehensive for my car and I have never made a claim before either, they rejected my claim as I was not the driver at the time of the accident. What is the purpose of having full insurance? They make excuses not to cover my car. The customer service is also the worst. You have to keep chasing them up to find out your outcome. They were rude and unhelpful. They never respond to any of my inquiries when asked. It took them over 2 to 3 months to finalize my case. It gives you a lot of stress and is not easy to deal with. Insure with them at your own risk. The worst insurance I have ever dealt with. Don't waste your money and time.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    P, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 2 months ago
    More Budget Direct car insurance customer reviews
  • Suncorp Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Worst company and would rate 0 if I could

    My car was written off, which was only 2 years old and the value of the car was nowhere near the value to replace. After 2 months or arguing back and forth, I got nowhere and was left out of pocket by $8,000 for a Kia Stonic, which is not an expensive car. Then they decided to also take my 12-month registration and 12-month insurance, that I had only paid a month before upfront. Other insurance companies give you a refund on the insurance that you haven't used in those 12 months and none of them touch your registration. Then to get my excess of $1600 back, after I was told that I needed to pay to get the claim started and would be refunded once they resolved that the accident wasn’t my fault, was like pulling teeth and took another 2 months to be refunded, so they are just MONEY GRABBERS! Then they sold my written off car at the Auctions, with my personal details left in the Logbooks. I had the new owner harassing me with constant phone calls and this is so wrong on so many levels! I’m absolutely furious with Suncorp and will never use them again in my lifetime.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Leisa, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
    More Suncorp Insurance car insurance customer reviews
  • Huddle Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Pathetic, please avoid at all costs

    This company would be the worst customer service I have ever had for car insurance in thirty years of having insurance. They will not answer the phone and leave you on hold for ages and still don’t answer. Good luck if you ever needed to make a claim. In my opinion they are pathetic.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Yurn, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
    More Huddle car insurance customer reviews
  • Qantas Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Unfit for purpose

    Got into an accident 7 months ago, the earliest I could be booked into their garage was 1 month later, get there and a told it’ll take 3 months to get my new bumper in. I was disappointed but what other choice did I have! 3 months later (so 4 months after crash) I start getting all sorts of mechanical warnings on my dash and I no longer feel comfortable driving the car, call qantas and they ask if it had been repaired yet, I told them it hadn’t and I haven’t even been contacted for a date yet for repair. After putting me on hold for a bit so they can call the garage I’m told it’s going to take 3 months to order parts, so essentially the garage forgot my repair… I was told by the nice guy in the call centre he would open a complaint for me, I should hear from them within a week. two calls later to qantas that week I was then dealing with a very rude lady who didn’t have any empathy for my case and again was told they would open a complaint for me and I should hear within two business days… 6 weeks went by and I called qantas having not heard from them, the complaints team ‘closed the complaint and left a note in the file’, they just didn’t contact me or attempt to make any communication with me. What is the point in a complaints dept?!? My car is finally in for repair, has been there for two weeks just to replace the bumper. I get a call on the 12th day to say it’s finished and I can come and collect it. Just for them to call back sheepishly to say that they hadn’t in fact turned the car on and therefore didn’t notice all the warnings on the dash. Now the rental car supplied by qantas needs to be returned as it is only available for the first 14 days of repair, my cars still not fixed 7 months after the accident and I still haven’t heard anything from qantas regarding my complaint. This is not car insurance, this is incompetence. Clearly under resourced, poorly organised and quite frankly the most professional scam.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    William, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
    More Qantas car insurance customer reviews
  • Toyota Finance Car Insurance

    STAY CLEAR of this insurance

    The policy is a great price but DO NOT be fooled once you make a claim if you have issues after that they will wipe your hands off it and you'll be taking it to the ombudsman to get your vehicle repaired to the standard it was before handing it over to them. I will definitely not be reinsuring any of my vehicles with them after my experience. The customer service is appalling a wait of over 7 weeks for them not to not even look at vehicle yet reject the claim of the damages their repaired caused. I have full proof as well.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Rob, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
    Reply from Toyota Finance

    Hi Rob,

    We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your experience. We would appreciate the opportunity to reach out directly and investigate this. If you could please send your full name and contact number to the following email address: social.marketing@tfal.com.au, our team can get in touch.

    Thank you,
    Toyota Insurance

    More Toyota Finance car insurance customer reviews
  • RAA Premium Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great benefits

    I really trust this brand. I love being connected to their information and competitions and member benefits.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Amber, South Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
    More RAA car insurance customer reviews
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Car accident

    I’ve recently had an accident and I’m thinking coles would be good after many years of insuring peoples cars only to realise they are the worst to deal with. They have many defaults such as: No communications via phone or email You call them you wait for ex amount of time only not to share any information or updates about your claim Ask many questions but you don’t get any answers back. No wonder why they are the cheapest in the market. This what happens when you pay peanuts you get monkeys for service.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Caroline, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
    More Coles car insurance customer reviews
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Budget Direct: A 6/10 Journey

    Joining Budget Direct, I was carrying a pretty clean insurance slate well into my late 40s. The feeling of security with a reputable insurance company was reassuring. Then, out of the blue, an evening drive turned into a wildlife encounter that wrote my car off and thrust me into the world of insurance claims. At first, everything ran like clockwork. The initial claim submission was straightforward, and I felt that everything would be sorted out quickly and efficiently. That's the level of service I signed up for, and initially, it seemed like I was going to get just that. But the wheels started to come off when the word 'investigation' was mentioned. It's a strange feeling, the shift from customer to 'person of interest.' I understood the need for due diligence, but I couldn't help but feel a twinge of offense at the suggestion that my claim was anything but genuine. This feeling was further compounded by the drawn-out nature of the investigation. Time ticked by, and with each passing day, my patience and trust in the system began to wane. Communicating with Budget Direct during this period was another sticking point. The sense of being just another number in the queue became palpable as I was shuffled between claims managers. It wasn't just the inconvenience of repeating my story; it was the underlying feeling of inefficiency and impersonality that chipped away at the company's initial good impression. Despite these challenges, I must acknowledge that in the end, my claim was resolved. The final settlement was fair, and for that, they earned back some of the goodwill that was lost during the process. Moreover, receiving an apology for the delay showed a level of accountability that I respect. It was a gesture that, while not undoing the hassle, did provide a sense of closure. To sum up my experience with Budget Direct: it's a mix of efficiency at the outset, frustration in the middle, and eventual relief at the conclusion. The company proved it could deliver, but the journey there was far from the straightforward path I was led to expect. It's a solid 6 out of 10 for me - they came through, but the ride was definitely bumpier than anticipated. I hope my experience is a catalyst for them to streamline their claims process and reinforce the confidence customers place in them at the outset.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Danny, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
    More Budget Direct car insurance customer reviews
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance

    Not as good as they advertise

    Waiting on pHone multiple times 30-60 minutes re not at fault claim Always get various non accurate opinions once I get thru on phone or opinions that contradict CURRNET Car insured for $15000 via phone Found new car indentical to one I might loose to not at fault fire damage GET online quote they offer me $20000 WTF

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Unhappy, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
    More Shannons car insurance customer reviews
  • Everyday Insurance from Woolworths Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Nothing to fault

    Very reasonable prices and options of cover. Extremely happy with their roadside assistance. I have used it a few times, and problems have been solved promptly. Customer Service is very easy to deal with and very helpful.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Travis, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
    More Everyday Insurance from Woolworths car insurance customer reviews
  • QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Terrible experience delay delay delay

    Terrible experience with Qbe. Do not insure with them. Have been a policy holder for several years, no claims. The one time I go to make a claim and they delay delay and delay when they know that every day I was losing money. Three weeks later they are still asking the same questions in different ways. This is their game/ plot to make you wait till you end up paying for repairs yourself. I’ve lost three weeks worth of work and still have to pay for the machine to be repaired. A massive that I provided full maintenance record including one prior to the fire in the machine by only a few weeks, photos, videos, a mechanic report supporting the issue with the fire and still playing games. Would not release the money. Despicable, highly incompetent and disgraceful company. Do not insure with them they will not pay if it comes time to needing it.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    David, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
    More QBE car insurance customer reviews
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.