RAA logo

RAA Car insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 390 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.
Write a review

Recent RAA car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • RAA Premium Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Fantastic

    I love my insurance company. It's one of the best out there. No BS .

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Daniel, South Australia, reviewed 15 days ago
  • RAA Car Insurance

    Excellent Insurer.

    Have been with RAA 30+ years, have found them very helpful when i have had to make a claim for an accident. Very fast claims assessment and approval. Rate rises haven't been to bad. Definitely would keep using them.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Bruce, South Australia, reviewed 29 days ago
  • RAA Premium Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great benefits

    I really trust this brand. I love being connected to their information and competitions and member benefits.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Amber, South Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • RAA Car Insurance

    could do better

    So, here is an interesting conversation between an Insurance CEO and an AI ... So, if you are an insurance company, what are you waiting for?

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Trevor, South Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • RAA Premium Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Fiona

    Recently on a trip back from Victoria I called in at Liberty service station in Bordertown. They advertised Premium Diesel and normal diesel. I pulled up at the bowser seen diesel and premium beside the diesel and put it in my car. Needless to say I put petrol in a diesel car. When I went to pay was when I found out. I called the RAA roadside assistance, they towed the car to nearby RAA depot. I then rang RAA to find out how I get home now, I’m entitled to 2 days car hire, unfortunately I was told there’s no car hire there, they could put me up in a motel but I had my dog with me, so virtually I was left stranded in Bordertown with a dog over 3 hours from home on a Saturday. I had to arrange for someone to come and pick me up. RAA would have left me outside that service station all night all weekend until my car could be towed to Narracorte to get the tank emptied. Then trying to get the tow organised on the Monday was nothing short of disgusting. I’ve been on the phone to different people for over 3 hours. Absolutely disgusting service. Perhaps our house insurance, and 4 cars needs to be with another provider because RAA would of left a 68 year old woman stranded on a Saturday in Bordertown because there was no services to help me get home in a country town in SA

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Claims handling
    Less
    Kearney, South Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • RAA Car Insurance

    Terrible car policy

    I moved to RAA car insurance 3 years ago and policy had or market value, just made a claim through no fault of my own and market value has been removed from the policy, I was not notified of this policy change and now I am so disadvantaged. Would never recommend RAA, they should have notified me in writing that this was changing received nothing. How to rip off innocent customers, disgusting

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jo, South Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • RAA Premium Comprehensive Car Insurance

    The raa excellent first class Australian company

    I have been a valuable customer of the raa having had a comprehensive car insurance since I first began driving in 1996. There prices have always been fair and there customer service first class.. yes I have had a couple of bingles and have had to use my insurance and I received EVERYTHING they promised in my policy. A first class Company of South Australia

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Kelly, South Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • RAA Car Insurance

    Great...until you make a claim.

    I was in a 3 car accident, having been rear-ended. I made the mistake of trusting my insurance company to look after me, but they absolutely deserted me and it was really clear that I would have got better service had I made my claim through the 3rd party rather than *my own insurer*. If they'd just said to me "you'll get a better result going thru the 3rd party" at first contact, I would have done that. However, they instead kept repeating vague assurances until I was left without a car with little warning and left with a choice of either - cancel the existing claim with RAA that was now 2 weeks in the process - or go get a car out of my own pocket and maybe RAA might try to get the money back for me one day if they felt like it. Absolutely blind-sided and penalised for trusting the people I pay my premiums to to look after me better than a random.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Seth, South Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • RAA Car Insurance

    Absolutely useless

    So car broke down in rural Vic at 9.00 at night. Ring up. Found us on their system but said we didn't have any policy for road side assistance with them. We certainly do, it's the only damn policy we have with them. So told them the dates and bank details every month since 2019 that they have been taking $17.33 a month out for the roadside assistance. Refused to come out. Couldn't tell us why they were taking our money out of our account every month without providing a service. Basically wiped their hands of their responsibility. So being in a bind we had to join on road at a cost of over $200 and because of their screwing around by the time we joined and then had them come out it had been over two hours. the petrol station was closed so we were then stuck in ouyen with no way to fill up with fuel, not enough fuel to drive to the next petrol station that was open, no accommodation except sleeping in the car and nothing we could do until the petrol station opened in the morning. With one of the passangers being disabled this was totally unacceptable. An absolute disgrace that will be taken much further.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Heather, South Australia, reviewed 12 months ago
  • RAA Premium Comprehensive Car Insurance

    More than happy with current service provided

    I've never had an issue with RAA. They have always been helpful, understanding and willing to assist with any obstacles that have come up through any claims. They have allowed me to choose my repairer and claims have been processed quickly. Prices are competitive and very comparable to other companies.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Karina, South Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • RAA Premium Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Customer service brilliant

    Always kept up to date on policy and changes. Have checked against others and they are very competitive.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Mark, South Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • RAA Premium Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Definitely research all options before joining RAA

    Firstly I have been insured by RAA for 16 years. Still am I yet to receive a gold membership. The price of full comprehensive car cover has sky rocketed in the last year. $67.18 i was paying monthly it is now $97.60. I had attempted on several occasions to have my bill reduced, alas to no avail. This is when i began to experience the flip-side of customer service. While attempting to get the best priced insurance possible for my financial situation, I encountered deplorable customer service. Rude, short, abrupt and continually being talked over has motivated me to begin sourcing other more financially options for full comprehensive car insurance. Undoubtedly two of RAA's major competitors have offered far better deals. At a time RAA had a monopoly on the insurance game. Now they just seem to forget about their customers. Definitely left me feeling like my business meant nothing to RAA.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    John, South Australia, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • RAA Premium Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Car Insurance

    Unfortunately I am not a fan of any insurance companies at all, but the RAA came in at a good price. I have heard that none of any insurance people pay out on claims easily or quickly, they all make you jump through hoops.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Tanya, South Australia, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • RAA Premium Comprehensive Car Insurance

    I feel more secure driving my much-loved car

    I've been with the RAA for over 20years with third party car insurance and more recently comprehensive car insurance. I find they're reliable to contact, efficient and reasonably priced compared to other insurers I've researched.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Rebecca, South Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • RAA Premium Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Trusting and reliable

    I can rely on RAA for my car needs. They are really good and trustworthy. I had a small situation where my insurance was cancelled so I had to start a new policy. This meant loosing my levelled status and going back to square one. That was a little disheartening but I would still recommend them.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Hannah, South Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.