Budget Direct logo

Budget Direct Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 1279 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured car insurance from Budget Direct

Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

Monthly premiums available
Yes costs extra
Agreed or market value
Agreed or Market
Choice of excess
$500 - $1,850
Choice of repairer
Optional Extra

Promoted

Recent Budget Direct car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Good customer service and cheaper than the rest

    Haven’t had any issues with budget. Cheaper than other insurances and so far good customer service.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Roberto, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Constantly on the phone to tow my car and fix it!

    On 11/6/22, my car suffered accidental damage in Mansfield after running over exposed rebar, bursting the hydraulic line on my Honda Civic, making it undrivable. Over the next two weeks, it sat in the local tow truck depot in Mansfield, with myself ringing almost daily begging them to please transfer it to a place where it can be fixed. After no answers or excuses were given why it took so long to tow, it finally made it to the repairer on 23/6/22. The repairer said that they completed the assessment on 25/6/22, with the report being sent to Budget Direct by Monday, 27/6/22. Fast forward another week to today, 1/7/22, and I had to chase Budget Direct AGAIN asking why the repairs haven't started after promising to contact me back. It turns out they never got the report. As of today, 1/7/22, 3 weeks after the accident, the assessment STILL hasn't been done, and repairs/parts needed to be approved haven't even started yet after dozens of phone calls. I am someone who works on site, and I need my car. My wife is also a doctor for emergency services, and she needs to be onsite immediately for patients. There has been no reprieve or compensation on my comprehensive cover other than a paltry hire car 'discount' to alleviate our situation. Stay away from this company's tardiness and crushing incompetence.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Ryan, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    I would shop around further

    The company is quite competitive on price however the customer service is terrible and needs to drastically improve. I had an issue with car insurance that took 7 months and about a dozen calls and correspondence to resolve. Many promises were made and they just did not deliver. I cannot recommend this company for this reason.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Nina, South Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Unacceptable Roadside Service

    My daughter (19) had a flat tire, called them for roadside service and had to wait for over 3 hours. Called them back twice but still left waiting in the dark and she was so scared. I had to come and tried to change the tire but luckily the serviceman came at the same time and fixed it. He said they only just called him 30 mins ago...Terrible customer service!!!! Did I pay to get this kind of service?... I just want to get my money back and go somewhere else.

    Customer service
    Less
    Minh, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Amazing!

    I was hit and put a claim through. Thinking this was going to be a long and painful process. I was so wrong! Easy, great communication and got my claim sorted within 48 hours

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Taylor, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Best value for money

    Budget direct have always been great value for money and their customer service is fanstastic. Recently when I had to renew my policy, I was offered a few different option to "tweak" my policy to ensure I am getting the best rate. Not only is my excess now $500 cheaper, but my premium has gone down from almost $45 per month to just $29. Definitely recommend!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Lauren, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great value for money for your average family!

    Budget offers great value for money for a person on a budget, someone with a standard family car, or for a young person who's just left home. They provide a simple online process for getting a quote and signing up to their policy. The process for taking photos of the car was straight forward and quick, which was appreciated. I found them to be extremely competitive and did not feel that I was missing out on anything by going with them, despite the significant difference in cost between them and some other insurers. Their roadside cover is very basic and doesn't include enough miles on the towing option for someone like myself who lives regionally - but that's the same with many roadside cover products. I have not had to claim from them yet so cannot comment on how good they are in this department. However when I have phoned them they are fairly quick to answer the call and are helpful and polite - which is always nice!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Felicity, Tasmania, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Value for money

    No major issues when making a claim, and reasonably prices.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Reece, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Budget direct is with you all the way

    Budget direct is fantastic, they are genuinely helpful. The prices are great.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Marlee, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Insurer of the year

    Cheap and easy to claim

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Daniel, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Budget direct provides easy to access service

    It was the cheapest of the companies . I have no complaints . It gave back money during covid when I wasn’t driving . Whilst it wasn’t much money it’s not something I expected from my insurance company . It was easy to sign up and customer service was quite easy Cons - I haven’t had to make a claim or had to follow up anything at this point so unable to say

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Connie, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Love it.

    I’m enjoying my insurance so far. I have not had to use the comprehensive but love having the option and keeping safe.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Emily, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Look elsewhere, dishonest company

    Beware of this company! I tried to take out an additional policy and suffered a barrage of irrelevant interrogation. Although it was made clear that I was to be the sole driver on this policy, I was asked intrusive and obscure questions about other family members. I then discovered that more than $300 had been debited from my account apparently relating to my existing policy. At no stage was I advised or did I receive any explanation as to why. My subsequent enquiries were unresolved.. I was told that an investigation would be conducted but received no further communication. I subsequently cancelled both policies. I had to make follow up calls to receive my refund. The operators are full of small talk pleasantries which mask the actual deceit and lack of substance of this company. My advice is to look elsewhere.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Mark, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Very poor form and deceitful

    They decided, with no reasonable explanation to cancel the policy with no 'at fault ' claims and nothing but one fine from my daughter. Very poor form

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Terry, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Worst service I have ever experienced!

    DREADFUL customer service. WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND BUDGET DIRECT TO ANYONE I KNOW! Very poor communication, follow up and response. Car damaged on 27/12, and whilst I appreciate it was not the best time of the year to have this happen,it was made much worse due to their slow responses, and FORGETTING to book a tow. No contact for over a week. I had to keep ringing them!. Took until the 20/1 to have the car assessed, first call I had from Budget Direct, at a panel beater, WHICH BY THE WAY, I HAD TO FIND! Because they didn't have one in my area. I am in metropolitan Melbourne for heaven's sake! To have to provide a Vic-Roads driving report, which was clear, and drop from a rating 1 to a 3 when the car was in my driveway when the tree fell on it, just seems ridiculous.I now have to wait until approximately the 28/2 to get my car back, and pay for a hire car till then, because of course I only had 14 days, which they did extend for a week, how kind of them. I finally had a second call from them, but only because the renewal had not been paid, funny that! Policy now cancelled of course. I agree with others, anything to get out of paying a claim.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Anita, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.