Budget Direct logo

Budget Direct Car insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 1328 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.
Write a review

Featured car insurance from Budget Direct

Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

Monthly premiums available
Yes costs extra
Agreed or market value
Agreed or Market
Choice of excess
$550 - $1,900 (varies by state)
Choice of repairer
Optional Extra

Promoted

Recent Budget Direct car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Worth changing too

    I was stuck on GIO for years but when I compared Budget Direct, I haven't saved a thousand of dollars but $60 savings will do under the current hardships me n my family r having, evey dollar counts atm

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Kate, New South Wales, reviewed 20 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Great freindly service

    Good customer service and price not to bad against other insurance companies.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Peter, Western Australia, reviewed 15 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Good

    Easy to set up, and easy to change details

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Less
    Sharna, Queensland, reviewed 15 days ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Beware of budget direct scammers fraud

    This is scammers in hail damage about 3 months facing them prove them natural hail damage 50% cover but not fully around 24000 $ cost about my car but paying 5500$ and no car hair until they pass u approved that day all cars in hail after getting unusual question first phase of my life bad experience with this. I prove u

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Singh, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    BUDGET DIRECT THIEVES..DON'T WASTE YOUR $$$

    Aagggghh... they should be called BUGGAR YOU DIRECT.. Budget Direct...HA! DON'T INSURE WITH THESE THIEVES! Been insured with these thieves for all over 5+ years and just like others in various bad review sections. With over 33+ years driving and comprehensive car insurance I've NEVER had an accident and NEVER made a claim. Until the other day, I came out of a funeral to be told by an eyewitness a truck has reversed into the front of my car. A business card left on windscreen (business conveniently didn't have an address listed on card or internet...) surprise surprise, not! Eyewitness took rego plate details for me. I called these insurance thieves the same day this happened gave them all the details. Claim was approved, however, only to be sent a text saying I have to pay excess and my no claim will be stripped through no fault of mine. All these years of loyalty, no claims and paying thousands of $$$$ in comprehensive car insurance to be told because I COULDN'T GIVE THEM AN ADDRESS OF THE AT FAULT IDIOT (as conveniently he had left the scene in a hurry before I got back to my car)...!! I have to foot the excess bill and be stripped of my no claim bonus. YOU HAVE TO BE KIDDING ME... YOU'RE A BUNCH OF THIEVES BUDGET DIRECT.... I'm going to make it a life mission to spread this feedback to anyone who will listen..

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Tone, New South Wales, reviewed 29 days ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Competitive price!

    I recently changed over to budget as my last insurer went up by $400!! How ridiculous. In the last budget have been very expensive but this year I found them to be reasonable and much cheaper than my last insurer. I’m so glad that the process to change over was very quick and easy!!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Katerina, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Budget Direct customer review

    I have used Budget Direct for 5+ years and always been very happy with them. They're always competitive with their pricing and have great customer service. Very happy with Budget Direct!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Jen, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Worst car insurance company

    I don't recommend Budget Direct. It might be cheaper than some but nasty when it came to claim. I have been a member with them since 2016 for full car comprehensive for my car and I have never made a claim before either, they rejected my claim as I was not the driver at the time of the accident. What is the purpose of having full insurance? They make excuses not to cover my car. The customer service is also the worst. You have to keep chasing them up to find out your outcome. They were rude and unhelpful. They never respond to any of my inquiries when asked. It took them over 2 to 3 months to finalize my case. It gives you a lot of stress and is not easy to deal with. Insure with them at your own risk. The worst insurance I have ever dealt with. Don't waste your money and time.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    P, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Budget Direct: A 6/10 Journey

    Joining Budget Direct, I was carrying a pretty clean insurance slate well into my late 40s. The feeling of security with a reputable insurance company was reassuring. Then, out of the blue, an evening drive turned into a wildlife encounter that wrote my car off and thrust me into the world of insurance claims. At first, everything ran like clockwork. The initial claim submission was straightforward, and I felt that everything would be sorted out quickly and efficiently. That's the level of service I signed up for, and initially, it seemed like I was going to get just that. But the wheels started to come off when the word 'investigation' was mentioned. It's a strange feeling, the shift from customer to 'person of interest.' I understood the need for due diligence, but I couldn't help but feel a twinge of offense at the suggestion that my claim was anything but genuine. This feeling was further compounded by the drawn-out nature of the investigation. Time ticked by, and with each passing day, my patience and trust in the system began to wane. Communicating with Budget Direct during this period was another sticking point. The sense of being just another number in the queue became palpable as I was shuffled between claims managers. It wasn't just the inconvenience of repeating my story; it was the underlying feeling of inefficiency and impersonality that chipped away at the company's initial good impression. Despite these challenges, I must acknowledge that in the end, my claim was resolved. The final settlement was fair, and for that, they earned back some of the goodwill that was lost during the process. Moreover, receiving an apology for the delay showed a level of accountability that I respect. It was a gesture that, while not undoing the hassle, did provide a sense of closure. To sum up my experience with Budget Direct: it's a mix of efficiency at the outset, frustration in the middle, and eventual relief at the conclusion. The company proved it could deliver, but the journey there was far from the straightforward path I was led to expect. It's a solid 6 out of 10 for me - they came through, but the ride was definitely bumpier than anticipated. I hope my experience is a catalyst for them to streamline their claims process and reinforce the confidence customers place in them at the outset.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Danny, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Robin

    I HAVE NOT MADE A CLAIM, HOWEVER THE INITIAL INFORMATION AVAILABLE AND EASE OF SIGNING UP WAS ATTRACTIVE

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Robin, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Excellent

    Great customer service Easy to deal with Very easy to renew polices Very affordable

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Stuart, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Also have house insurance with budget

    Never made a claim so it is very hard to review

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Less
    Stephen, South Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Great freindly service

    Very friendly service and very helpful.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Peter, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Budget Direct car insurance

    Great value for coverage and also the optional road service with them.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Thomas, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great service at a reasonable price

    Budget Direct provides a good service for a pretty reasonable price. Compared to other providers, I’ve found Budget Direct to be cheaper but still upholds credibility and professionalism. I switched from another provider to Budget Direct a few years ago and don’t think I’ll be changing again any time soon.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Nick, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.