Westpac logo

Westpac Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 3314 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Westpac home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan LVR (Principal & Interest, LVR <70%)

    Poor customer service and worst bank in Australia

    Never trust the banking app and the repayments requirements for a loan through the app. Never contact the customer for missed or shortfall in repayment. The bank will let it go until it damages your credit rating. Worst customer service.

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jijin, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan (Principal & Interest)

    Friendly helpful service, compapratable rate

    Very helpful especially when in hardship looking for solutions and allowing time to get back on my feet. Easy to apply for a lower rate though would have been great if this was automatic. Friendly non-judgemental staff.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Selena, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Flexi First Option Home Loan Special Offer (Principal & Interest)

    Friendly Staff. Competitive Options

    Westpac offer very competitive rates. Staff at local branch’s are always friendly and helpful. If they can’t help you right then and there, they will provide you with a phone number to call or get someone to reach out to you. In my experience the branch staff always go above and beyond. I have had issues with my direct debit recently, but after a quick phone call they were able to set everything back to normal.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michael, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    OMG could not recommend Westpac for a home loan

    Nothing against our bank manager whose hands seem to be tied by Westpac's wholly useless, incompetent loan processing system. What should be a simple refinance/loan increase to purchase a second property has turned into a complete joke. Loan processing is apparently done in India ???? and with lockdowns over there no one can be contacted. Weeks have gone past and although credit checks can be done in an instant, property valuations can be done armchair, and by using google earth, and capacity to repay can be easily proven through pay slips etc. loan is still not approved (and no end in sight) - even for loan customers of over 30 years' standing. The bank said to put subject to finance 21 days on the contract and they are not going to make it. Utterly bizarre.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Peta, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Great relationship manager

    Our relationship banker is exceptional - professional, efficient and wonderful to deal with.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michelle, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan LVR (Principal & Interest, LVR <70%)

    First home buyers been messed around by Assessor

    I am beyond disappointed with Westpac and their customer service. Me and my husband are first home buyers and the experience couldn't be anymore stressful. We have been working with Westpacs assessor for 6-7 weeks now. After many back and forth conversations we were told he was happy and our loan was ready to be given the final approval from the credit team. After 6 business days of the credit team having our documents they soon got sent back to the assessor because he forgot to put in information that we had given to him. Our docs were then sent back to the credit team for again, final approval. The credit team have sent back our docs to the assessor because they are unhappy with a piece of evidence. This particular document the assessor has had in his possession for 6-7 weeks and never said it wasn't enough evidence. We are left with less than four weeks until our land settles and we know that once we provide the assessor the updated document it'll be another 5-6 business days before it even gets looked at. The whole experience has been extremely stressful. Whilst Westpac offer the best rates they don't offer the best customer service or turn around times and for that reason we are now looking at switching banks at the final hour.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Stacey, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Horrible experience

    Been with Westpac for over 20 years, recently needed some help and they would help us at all.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Danni, Western Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Westpac Bank, for a great home loan!

    I like that they are reachable via phone and email. I like that they follow up with you, on your enquiry into a home loan. I like the fact that they are efficient, double checking they have all the boxes ticked.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Cheryl, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Westpac

    very slow application service. poor customer care

    After losing a house i was about to purchase after the cooling off period being extended 3-4 times, purely because westpac weren't on the ball and didn't finish the application for 3 months, i have nothing but bad things to say about them. I would call them everyday asking to talk to someone but constantly being told "this application cannot be escalated any higher" or "i'm not authorised to give you that sort of information" or after being asked to get put through to a manager i would be told " im sorry im not allowed to do that". Each time i called i would be on the phone for at least half an hr before i could actually speak to someone. I lost my 0.25% deposit and i was lucky to get my 10% deposit back just because the vendor and real estate agent were so understanding. This one really made me have my doubts about westpac. But after the first application with them, I thought the 2nd application (for another house I eventually found) would be a lot quicker and easier as they already had all of my information. But that wasn't the case. I am currently in the process of the purchase of new house, and i was supposed to get the keys early this week, until westpac have told us they are not ready to proceed with the purchase (2 months after the offer was first accepted), luckily the vendor is happy to accept a extended settlement date by a week . But I still have my doubts that Westpac will have their shit sorted in time. they still dont give out information and still let you stay on hold for hours per week. I am not confident we will get our 10% deposit back this time and I am absolutely filthy with Westpac and their terrible service. I cannot explain the stress this has put me and my family under and I would not wish this on anyone. Strongly advise looking at any other bank other than westpac

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Luke, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    2021 worth bank of the years

    Winner of the worst bank of 2021. The bank produces 4 home loans documents incorrectly about 4 times and each time I have to be put back in the queue. When it’s comes to settlement, they keeps asking me for additional documents on numerous occasions. I have to rescheduled settlement twice. On top of that I have to resigned all loans documents twice due to the errors with loans documents. To this date, our purchase is still not settled. The bank put me through so much stressed and anxiety in the last couple of months. I have gone through so much stressed today, I ran to the toilet and vomited.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nikki, Queensland, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Great service and rates

    They have given us wonderful service and rates for over 20 years. They keep you informed and if they can help in any way they do. I would highly recommend them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dianne, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Great for offset accounts

    Always helpful.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Scott, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Highly NOT Recommended

    I have 4 investment accounts with Westpac and a Share broking account for few decades. I was also working for Westpac International and institutional Bank before. Westpac is now no longer a Bank for Australia sadly! Last few weeks and up to now I am trying to transfer my property ownership to my son, discharging the mortgage to ING. I was calling to Westpac Mortgage Centre in Adelaide several times, each time Westpac excused for the reason 10 days processing the paper works and keep delaying again and again. I am so tired and frustrated, there is only an option is to move all my mortgages and trading accounts to the other lender or bank. This lesson I have learned too deep with Westpac not with a particular staff but the Westpac system and its Mortgage Centre. Westpac provided a complaint reference CS13740177 and confirmed 100% the discharge will be on next Monday 23rd/August. I hope they may keep their promise not another excuse, too powerful this lender for the victims under their control, Westpac makes you cried out if you want to discharge or escape Monday 23/08/2021, Westpac Mortgage Centre misleading again to avoid today settlement and wanted to postpone until Wednesday 25/08/2021 due to the payout figure not ready yet There is no other option, I will lodge a complaint to AFCA.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kim, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Better options available

    Would not give me a loan because I wouldn't state whether I was married or not -it was like going back to the dark ages - very behind the times as I have the independent capacity to make my own financial decisions as a female and don't need a male to be part of my home loan. I could prove I had more than the capacity to repay the loan but they were not interested.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Gaye, Victoria, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan LVR (Principal & Interest, LVR <70%)

    Westpac do have very low interest rate.

    Westpac's service with our home loan is very good. With the fix rate we got, helps a lot with repayments. They call monthly to check on us and see if we need any other products. They customer service is excellent and would recommend to others. Our extended family members are also with Westpac after them asking about their service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Emma, Queensland, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Neat Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.64% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.65% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.60% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 3.00% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.96% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      2.64% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.56% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.49% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.84% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 464 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.