Commonwealth Bank logo

Commonwealth Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 5946 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Can’t fault them

    I have been happy with CommBank for the 6 years we have had our home loan, they have assisted us while going through hardship / cancer.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Banika, New South Wales, reviewed about 17 hours ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Im satisfied

    To be truthful it's the only bank I've used since coming to this country 25yrs. ago. Im happy, have been treated well and its convenient to my home and easy to use online. When my husband was in care they were sympathetic and loaned me money till I could access my super. I don't know much about banking in general but have been satisfied with my local branch.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Pat, New South Wales, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    I would recommend Commonwealth Bank for home loans

    Commonwealth Bank has good and accessible customer service, and is proactive in contacting the customer when things go wrong. Their rates are competitive and their Netbank app is easy to use. I would recommend them as a home loan provider.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, Queensland, reviewed 8 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Take the time to go to a face to face appointment

    Physically going into a branch with a loan officer appointment gives better results. They are able to give a more competitive comparison rate than the phone service officers.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Peta, Western Australia, reviewed 16 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    CBA all the way

    The process for our home loan was seamless and done in around 3 days. Brilliant.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tinka, Queensland, reviewed 23 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Re-mortgage process 15 weeks and counting

    Have been a customer for 32 years and my most recent dealings with them make you feel like an inconvenience and not appreciated. This is week 15 of the re-mortgage process and they keep putting up roadblocks to stall it. The officers never admit fault and there is no accountability. I'll be closing my accounts after 32 years service and finding another bank to deal with.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Damien, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    CBA dont care about existing customers.

    All during covid, they would not negotiate our rates for a better deal. So we left.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    B, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package)

    Great service when you enter a branch.

    I like this Bank because it is trustworthy. I could get lower rates elsewhere but they were prepared to negotiate when asked so I was happy with that. The only problem was that it took 3 phone calls to reduce my interest rates. The third person I spoke to offered to split my loan and fix a portion of it which gave me a lower interest rate. This was great but annoying that the other two employees did not suggest this to me when I had spoken to them several months to a year earlier.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Donna, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package)

    Deceptive and onerous.

    The wealth package is somewhat deceiving as it implies that the customer will automatically receive the best interest rates as per when the loan was initiated. Unfortunately, the customer must request (on potentially more than one occassion as rates change) to receive the lowest interest rate equal to the rate advertised to new customers. This does not reward loyalty and requires continuous monitoring by the customer. Disappointing.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kelly, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Extra Home Loan (LVR <70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Incompetent lending specialists

    I went to this bank seeking a pre approval for a home loan and asked them multiples time what my maximum borrowing capacity is. The answer they gave me was completely wrong and I spent over six months attending open homes and auctions with some properties just going out of my price at auction or getting beaten in terms and conditions in multiple offer situations. They did this assessment listing that I had two dependants which I don’t not have and I never stated that I do. My finances are not completed as I am debt free, employed full time and have a decent deposit. I recently engaged another bank who stated my maximum borrowing capacity was close to 300k more. I would not recommend CBA to anyone, they are highly incompetent. Due to this error and the rise in the property markets there is a long list of suburbs that I can’t not afford to purchase in anymore.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Matt, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    A good easy bank

    Great interest rate, really easy to use web page and still have convenient branches or you can do business at Aus post.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Robert, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Exceptional customer service

    The bank provide me with exceptional service and always help me out when I had and questions or concerns regarding my wealth package and home loan.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Beena, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Great bank!

    My CBA branch is fantastic, they have supported and assisted me over quite a few years.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Claire, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    They are experts

    They are very helpful.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Monika, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Very unsatisfied with the bank

    The bank would over charge me and then put the money back into my account always making mistakes with my account took two months after probate to close the account the bank wouldn’t let me go.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Corinne, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Neat Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.64% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.65% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.60% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 3.00% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.96% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      2.64% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.56% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.49% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.84% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 464 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.