Commonwealth Bank logo

Commonwealth Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 5930 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Good at first but never offers the latest.

    No one contacted me close to the end of my fixed rate and the bank didn’t have on offer a good deal for me at the time, however the moment I decided to refinance through another bank, boom they all of a sudden contact me and give me an offer. Sneaky, so if I didn’t look up my rates they were going to charge me double the rates on what was offered by everyone else. They also offered me cash back, something that even my broker was surprised. But due to the fact that they only came to the table when they realise I was leaving after banking with them for over 14 years was very disappointing so I decided to give another bank a try.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Brandon, Victoria, reviewed 21 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Great bank

    Easy to deal with, extremely helpful in apply in for home loan. Only takes a phone call to get interest rate lowered off unhappy.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Vanessa, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package)

    Perfect

    Everything on point.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Anna, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package)

    Wow, wow and wow!

    Wow, wow and wow. Smoothest property purchase ever with lowest rates for investment loans I have ever had. The CBA lender was wonderful, so accommodating. She explained all my options in a way I understood and easy knew my best way forward. Worked seamlessly with the real estate and solicitor. No hiccups in whole process almost as easy as purchasing a cup of coffee. Thanks CBA.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sallie, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    All good

    All good

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sunil, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    3 home loans , two savings accounts and a credit c

    3 home loans, two savings accounts and a credit card with the Commonwealth Bank is not enough to warrant any kind of service so it seems - 3 attempts to call today - each call left on hold for more than 50 minutes - I am beyond frustrated - and all to simply increase my transfer limit for one transaction - too much to ask ? If you require any form of customer service by phone this is NOT the bank for you.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Vanessa, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Poor communication

    I requested for the statement on investment property from January till May. But I could find only statement from January-February. The response given by the lady over the phone was presented in such a way that will make you rely on her but the outcome is worse. Reliability and trust on the bank is shaken badly.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dj, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Low customer care in CBA branch

    The Customer Service in the branch is poor and they advise to contact 132224 for all queries on home loan.The information I received was that the home loan specialist in the branch deals only with new loans and do not discuss about existing loan. The customer Service on the phone do a great job and go through our loans and discuss about it.The email communication is poor and they don’t respond by emails to our queries. Overall the marking rate for CBA has gone down from before and trust on the Bank has decreased. Unable to recommend this bank to anyone in future due to the bad experience.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dj, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Bad telephone conversation

    There is no statement available on the net bank home loan with a higher amount. Does not show the balance after lump sum payment. As such statements are available for up to 7 years.Recently a worker from Commonwealth named Alex stated that I was eligible for 400,000 loan looking at the equity. Afterwards he transferred to another person Mukesh from Direct Lending Loan.He took all my information regarding my income and assets over the phone.Later he stated that me and my husband were not eligible to borrow any money after looking at our income. I don’t feel safe for having transferred all my information to Mukesh.I would prefer to file a complaint against Alex and Mukesh who chatted with me on the phone. Kindly let me know about the outcome. Don’t feel safe to continue our loan with CBA. DaisyJacob.

    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Dj, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Extra Home Loan (LVR <70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    The CBA need to lift their game.

    Slow. Long waiting times. Not enough communication between departments. Not competitive enough.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Naomi, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    OK, but always be aware

    CBA have looked after us for many years, and seem to listen, although we always know that they're about making money for their sharholders.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Leonard, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package)

    A big NO to commonwealth home loan.

    It was the worst decision to go with Comm bank for home loan. We directly went to the bank for home loan to save our time on the home loan process but it backfired us. Cons Extremely slow process. Hard to get into the call with the broker who is handling the process No proper email response No proper document check. Asking document again and again without checking. Reply like "We have other clients as well". (I am sorry that's your job. if you can't do it in time give us time estimation we will go to another bank) No value for the client's time and money. Pros Hasn't found it yet

    Price
    Customer service
    Less
    Sunita, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Accessible, clean premises, friendly and helpful

    I like our branch because the lending staff are local residents which mean they know how the housing market is in our area.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Patricia, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Peter Cubrilo 5 Stars

    Peter Cubrilo in Perth responded to and managed an application through the 2020 Christmas period effortlessly. Fast professional response times and great handling of every aspect of the application made the entire process a pleasure.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Steven, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package)

    No customer focus.

    They are the biggest bank in Australia so there is the convenience but also in saying that the customer care factor is very low and they don't keep you up to date with new products.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dragan, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.13% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 506 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.