NAB logo

NAB Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 2928 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent NAB home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • NAB Home Loan

    I would recommend this bank, they helpful

    I have never had any issues with my mortgage, they're easy to contact and support is there if needed.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Matthew, Victoria, reviewed 6 days ago
  • NAB Home Loan

    Dont trust any bank will follow up on sales talk

    I dont like the fact that we were told a person was to be our personal banker handling the loan and that they would ensure as things changed we would get the best value and that they would review the loan regularly and let us know of any improved services.. Well after about 5 years of no bank contact we were noticing they were advertising a lower rate than we were on and so we went shopping to find we were several percent higher than market , we found the best deal our self and approached them to say we were closing and changing they offered to match the new rates and only as it would save us a lot of adjustments and changes we stayed, but that was what they were promising to do and it had cost us thousands of dollars in interest. We liked that they would loan on a property over 50 acres even though it was just a lifestyle situation in a rural area most banks would not.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Russell, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • NAB Home Loan

    Dissatisfied with NAB in general

    Found trying to gain a pre approval on a mortgage nor easy to do and I constantly had to chase bank for updates. Also have lost out on property’s we were interested in buying due to slowness of response from bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Eddie, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    Do not give personal service

    With Nab I felt like a number not a customer. Will only offer help if you ask. I have been with them for over 20 years. They should help and show a bit of loyalty.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kelly, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, Fixed)

    BEWARE OF NAB MORTGAGE SCAM!

    Having taken out a fixed rate mortgage, then AFTER completion finding the monthly payments were $140 more than agreed. Then when challenged the manager, she admitted they hadn’t communicated very well. Still she went on to lie to her boss, saying she had offered us an insurance against the rate going up before completion and we had declined! A COMPLETE AND UTTER LIE. How they get away with blatant theft, I do not know. In 40 years+ of owning property I have NEVER experienced such poor service from a bank.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Alison, Western Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Fixed, Choice Package)

    Terrible feeling at the start

    How this makes you feel without notice. Choose fixed rate for 3 years was 2.09%, two weeks before settlement changed to 2.19%, one day before settlement it changed to 2.28% again! Feel like on a pirate ship.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    John, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Choice Package)

    $2000 cash back to refinance - no brainer !!!

    NAB refinanced my home loan with offset facility. Super easy to do and got a whopping $2000 cash bonus. No brainer as they also lowered the loan rate. Super happy with the refinance process and the added savings overall.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Domenic, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, Fixed)

    Terrible customer service over the phone for home

    Terrible customer service over the phone for a home loan. Whatever you ask they don’t know and transfer you to the next operator and the only answer that you hear is “I’m not sure”. Make sure don’t borrow.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Reza, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Choice Package)

    Just terrible.

    Customer for 26 years - terrible customer service, terrible interest rates, glad to have finally moved away resulting in a savings of over $600/m. The only thing that keeps NAB in business is that people don't move banks, because it's such a difficult thing to do.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nick, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    VALUE FOR MONEY, FRIENDLY SERVICE, TRUSTWORTHY.

    Refinanced had an existing loan with NAB and got new rate and was offered completive rates and no extra fees, very helpful and friendly service from the Loan Dept.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ajay, Western Australia, reviewed 10 months ago
  • NAB Home Loan

    Competitive but could improve application process

    NAB have been flexible with meeting our needs, changing product arrangements and maintaining contact during COVID. They could improve their application process. The last two occasions of refinancing with them have not gone smoothly with a lack of contact & follow up on their part. At this stage, proving they remain competitive we will stay with them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Liz, Tasmania, reviewed 10 months ago
  • NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Fixed, Choice Package)

    Crap if you pay your mortgage on time

    We were and still are in lockdown. Never once did I pause my mortgage or not pay, but when I rang the back to ask if the interest rate could be reduced, they said NO. When my wages where reduced to 80%. I got a second job. I am by myself. The total lack of empathy from NAB is ridiculous. As soon as this fixed bit is over I will be leaving. Don’t support the payers. I hope the shareholders are happy.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jane, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • NAB Home Loan

    Worst bank in Australia

    Worst bank in Australia. Be warned never ever go with this bank. Worst customer service once they have your Loan.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lee, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • NAB Home Loan

    AWFUL!!! Beware

    NAB Definitely would NOT recommend this bank to anyone. My wife and I are still in disbelief as to how unethical this bank was and how disgustingly we were treated!! We sold our house in late February and received a phone call from a manager at NAB in Moorabbin shortly after they’d received our mortgage discharge papers to close off the loan. He basically pleaded with us to come in and look into applying for another home loan when looking for a new house. When we decided to take them up on their offer he sent us to the NAB branch in Southland to organise a pre approval. The pre approval loan amount was calculated at 1.1 million which was well above what my wife and I were looking at borrowing. A week later we found a house that we loved which required a loan amount of $840,000, well under what NAB had pre approved us for, and signed the paperwork with a 10 week settlement period. We sent NAB the contract of sale along with any other information they required and were given every bit of reassurance that this loan would go ahead and there was not the slightest bit of doubt. As the weeks went by received emails and text messages from NAB letting us know that loan had been processed and we had unconditionally been approved and congratulating us on the success of the loan. My wife and I were extremely excited and could not wait for settlement date to be able to move into our dream home! Then one Friday night around 6.30pm (A WEEK EXACTLY BEFORE SETTLEMENT DATE), I received a phone call from the NAB banker that had been organising our loan, basically apologising and telling us that our loan had been withdrawn! When I asked why he could not give me any answers simply stating that “a second verification team had looked at your file and decided to pull out of the loan”. My heart sank. I could not believe that a bank that had 10 WEEKS to settle a loan decided to pull out less than a week before settlement without giving me any sort of explanation and less than 5 business days to try and seek the loan through another lender. This is surely highly unethical given that both my wife had I had an immaculate history with previous home loans and a perfect credit rating. We just couldn’t believe how cold and heartless a bank could be leaving us in a position where we potentially faced penalties due to not meeting settlement date, losing our 10% deposit ($105,000) and not to mention being homeless. When I said all this to the NAB banker, all he could do was continuously apologise and tell me the best thing he could do for me was a file a complaint on our behalf! I honestly couldn’t not believe it. What was supposed to be an exciting time for us turned out to be a living nightmare and fair to say a week of intense stress and many sleepless nights. Monday morning came and decided to speak to a friend of mine who manages the ANZ branch in Ringwood. Told her the situation and gathered all the documents for her to try and process the loan through ANZ. They worked around the clock to make the loan happen by Friday which was settlement and could not believe they managed to do it. I can’t express enough how grateful we were to ANZ for being so helpful and compassionate to our situation and making it happen so quickly. The real kicker is that NAB rang on Tuesday and said there had been a mistake and would like to proceed with our loan, which we declined. We then pulled our 2 investment loans and savings from NAB as we didn’t want to risk a $1 with them. It still amazes me to this day that NAB had 10 weeks to approve a basic loan that ANZ managed to organise in a few days!!! Absolutely blows my mind! Steer clear of NAB not worth the stress!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Janelle, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    They don't care

    We have been customers with NAB for over 40 years. This doesn't matter to them neither do they care keeping long term customers or believe in flexibility.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Shari, Queensland, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Neat Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.64% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.65% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.60% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 3.00% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.96% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      2.64% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.56% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.49% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.84% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 464 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.