Great Southern Bank logo

Great Southern Bank Home loan customer reviews

Overall rating
8.1/10
Price
7.9/10
Features
7.7/10
Customer service
8.2/10
Convenience
7.4/10
Trust
8.1/10
Based on 391 Great Southern Bank home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent Great Southern Bank home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Great Southern Bank Basic Variable (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <70%)

    Amazing Interest Rate

    Cheapest interest rate on variable

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    April, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan

    Greater Southern Bank - great Service

    I have been with greater Southern Bank formally known as CUA, I find that they are always helpful, can assist with any enquirers and at times go above and beyond. I dislike the closure of physical branches as my closest is over an hour away.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rebecca, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan

    Easy

    Been banking with Credit Unions for 30 plus years

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Av, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Offset Variable (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <70%)

    Pat

    Easy to deal with customer service wise.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Patrick, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan

    Competitive rates & personalised service!

    Great Southern Bank's competitive rates, personalised service, and commitment to their customers, makes them the perfect trusted partner in homeownership!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Amorette, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan

    Great Bank, super friendly and a great help

    I switch my bank to GSB about a year and half ago after being with Commbank for like 12 years. I didn't receive any benefits from my partnership with commbank and i am in way better position now that i have switch. the few times i have contact GSB, they have been really helpful and super quick. I am even thinking about saying with them when my home loan becomes unlocked and moving all my banking across to them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Stephen, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan

    NOT a bank kowtowing to shareholders

    Great Southern Bank is a credit union - they don't pander to shareholders. Easy online interface and you can offset your interest on other accounts to your mortgage. Easy withdrawal function on your mortgage.

    Price
    Features
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nikki, Queensland, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan

    Great Southern Bank is the worst Australian bank

    Great Southern Bank is the worst Australian bank ever and they should be closed down by ASIC. They will take your money and rip you off at every possible opportunity. They have absolutely no morality or common decency. Never ever bank with these people unless you want to be bitterly disappointed and upset.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Shaun, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Good bank.

    I’ve been with GSB for a long time and have never had any issues. There’s no hidden fees. The home loan process was a breeze and I had no issues at all. I like how they’re not a pushy bank and customer service is always personable and available.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Shae, Queensland, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Basic Variable (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <70%)

    Poor management and communication

    Applied for an add on loan, a very simple request and one that should take no time at all. After 8 weeks no decision made despite numerous calls and complaints It appears the branch manager at Castle Hill failed to submit my documents. My personal information is somewhere but no one knows where. I have been told it has escalated to management and still nothing. No one gets back to you when promised. A lot of arse covering from management and meanwhile we need funds for urgent repairs. I have been with CUA for 8 years and this is the worst I’ve seen with any bank. Time to introduce the media to their unethical management of personal and private information.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Gary, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan

    Thank you.

    First time customer with CUA with whom I successfully negotiated a new home loan. CUA was recommended to me by friend paralegal as one of the few banks she never had any issues with when it came to settlement and they did not disappoint. From start to finish CUA made the whole process as stress free as possible, my loans officer kept me updated and was always easy to contact, all phone conversations were with real people who were all friendly and helpful. Even with one contract termination and unreasonably short settlement date for eventual purchase CUA met all deadlines in ridiculously short time frame. Do not have one single negative comment to make.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Fabienne, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan

    Good option for basic requirements

    CUA gives you a dedicated broker to manage your mortgage and accounts, which is a great and efficient service. They do however seem to be somewhat reluctant to pass on the latest rate cuts to their customers. It is great that they offer limited fees, but they need to be more competitive with interest rates.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lauren, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan

    Absolutely worst experience with a bank

    Building on our children's property to the value of R500 000 +(a very large extension) we wanted to go on title on the property. I approached their mortgage broker on the 5th November 2020 to get this organised. Because they have a mortgage on the property CUA required us to be on the loan (all title holders have to be on the loan if there is a mortgage). We all had to apply for a new loan. This loan was not going to change at all i.e. my husband and I were not going to borrow any money from CUA, just use our own savings to build. They also required us to put money into the loan to get title even though we are going to add so much value to the property - in fact more than the percentage we are asking for. Well we are still waiting. 3 months and 6 days have passed. We still don't have title to the property. I have done everything they have asked - filled in all their forms, paid in the money. Our build was postponed as we need to be on title to build. We are probably incurring delay costs. This is just unbelievable!!!. We require nothing from CUA and yet they are pushing us around to such an extent. At one point they even asked for all our savings so that they could control the build (i.e. the invoicing and receipting) They wanted all of our savings! As said above, we are not borrowing a cent from them and the control they want over us is just unwarranted!

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Karene, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan

    Stay clear!

    OMG! Where should I start- don't touch them! We transferred our investment loan to them Because they didn't charge extra for investment loans and assured us that there weren't plans to change that even though the company we were with and most other companies had- well that lasted long enough to get the loan set up then- you guessed it they changed. We moved from a variable account to a one year fixed term with no charges but when the year was up there were charges no matter we decided to do- fixed term again or variable they wanted to charge hundreds to 'set it up'. Trying to speak to someone is a nightmare - if you don't have at least half an hour to spare for them to actually answer the call don't even bother trying! Then we decided we'd had enough of extra charges and poor customer service and decided to look elsewhere- our new loan is 2% less! saving us thousands, but they struck again! The signed loan contract stated that the discharge fee would be $200- no .... they changed it to $500!!!Apparently a signed contract doesn't mean a thing- they can charge whatever they like- Even the big banks only charge $250! What a rip off! Stay clear!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Suzanne, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan

    Very bad experience with CUA. Incredibly tardy.

    First time I have dealt with this bank. Absolutely awful - We are just trying to go on title on a house already owned by our daughter and son-in-law. Purchasing 40% of the house. I would have thought we could just put 40% of the purchase price into the loan and buy 40% title that way + stamp duty and legal fees. We are building on the property so I would have thought we could just draw the money out through the building stages as we build and add value. The build is going to cost a lot more than what we will be putting into the loan so a lot of extra money is going into the property. We have absolutely no debt on houses, cars or cards and yet it has taken over 2.5 months so far for them to process this, delaying our build and my frustration knows no bounds. They keep saying it is an extremely complex transaction. I don't see that it is. Just see them as incredibly inefficient and useless. Don't use them if you can avoid them.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Karene, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      5.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      5.90% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      6.25% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      6.20% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discount Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      5.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discounted Home Value Loan

      interest rate
      6.09% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.09% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      6.29% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.20% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 462 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.