HSBC logo

HSBC Credit card customer reviews

Overall rating
5.5/10
Price
5.5/10
Features
5.5/10
Customer service
5.5/10
Convenience
5.4/10
Trust
5.7/10
Based on 473 HSBC credit card reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent HSBC credit card customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • HSBC Credit Card

    No online ticket purchases overseas !

    The Global debit card works with pin number in restaurants and shops. If you try to buy tickets online it will send a OTP, one touch password, to your australian mobile. Absolutely useless if you are using a local SIM on holiday and your australia service is not on your phone or set up for roaming. Other banks like LLOYDS allow verification via their app. Improvement needed!

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Gordon, Western Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • HSBC Credit Card

    Poor customer service

    The card had a great sign up bonus initially however I found customer service extremely card to get in contact with. When I wanted to cancel the card, they gave me the run around and were extremely unhelpful. I would not take out another card with HSBC simply because the customer service is so woeful.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ashleigh, Northern Territory, reviewed 10 months ago
  • HSBC Credit Card

    HSBC Australia is committing to fraudulent actions

    HSBC Australia is committing to fraudulent actions to rip off their customers. Their Customer Service is unbelievably terrible, and gives basically zero support to customers. In addition, they cheat their customers. I encountered a few fraudulent transactions (total 20k AUD), I immediately disputed, but they didn’t take any action for a month and didn’t reverse or cancel the transactions, to make the matter worse, although i cancelled auto debit services, they deducted full amount including disputed items at the end of the month with no my permission. I immediately complained at their customer service but they just continued to say they can’t do anything. This is unbelievable business conduct and HSBC Bank Australia is definitely committing to frauds and cheating their customers. I highly recommend NOT to use HSBC Bank Australia as 1) their customer service is terrible, 2) they try to rip off your money and 3) they commit unlawful transactions to make money.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Atsushi, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago
  • HSBC Credit Card

    Very happy

    After having read many reviews I was a little reluctant to apply. I must say the process from start to finish was surprisingly seamless and straightforward. I already have a accounts with them and unlike a major bank I have been with for years they were far more helpful.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Gary, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • HSBC Star Alliance Credit Card

    A waste of time

    I have had the worst experience with HSBC in relation to this credit card. With other credit cards I have had in the past, the application was fairly simple and was approved within a couple of weeks. I decided to get rid of my other card as I use Star Alliance all the time for regular travel, so wanted this card to maximize points. The application process took more than 10 weeks, with them asking me to provide a new document each week, I have wasted so much time on the phone with them. This is all despite the fact I have a sizable savings account balance with them and my salary going directly into my HSBC savings account (so they can see everything anyway). I don’t recommend HSBC credit cards to anyone, don’t waste your time!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Johanna, South Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • HSBC Credit Card

    The worst application process in the industry

    I've had the most frustrating credit card application experience with HSBC by far. I applied for a credit card 3 weeks ago but I am still waiting on the application result. I had to go to a branch twice and call the help desk 6-7 times to get an update and submit yet more documents and there is still no resolution. Their processes are very manual and outdated - I had to go to a branch to get an identification check. Departments don't seem to talk to each other - they asked me on the phone for documents I'd already uploaded and also submitted in person at the branch. They can't provide a meaningful update or commit to any timelines - on every call they tell me we will get back to you within X days or hours and they never stick to the promise. Don't bother, just go to another provider to save time.

    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Margarita, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • HSBC Credit Card

    The absolute worst bank and customer service

    The absolute worst bank and customer service I have ever experienced. Charging random cash advance fees and dynamic currency conversion fees, with vendors that I have used before and no other bank has ever charged me such fees for. Charging me interest for outstanding balances when my balance is always paid off well within the monthly payment deadline. Tried to contact customer service via securemail, chat function, call centre, and email – securemail and mail never get a response, chat function takes three hours to respond and have incompetent untrained reps who provide generic answers that aren’t helpful, call centre similarly know nothing and can’t action anything. Refund finally agreed, and was promised to be in my account within 3-5 working days, and still haven’t appeared after a month. Disgraceful and disgusting how a large bank can treat their customers with no respect and get away with it.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    J, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • HSBC Platinum Credit Card

    No covid travel protection

    I am really annoyed that it is one of the few more major credit cards not to offer covid travel insurance as part of their free credit card travel insurance. Most of the bigger banks offer this and it will save you close to two thousand dollars if you have to buy separate insurance so no way is this card value for money. Also what they don't tell you is that you have to pay a fee, about$75 extra if you want to include any pre-existing conditions. First time I have come across that

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Annemarie, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • HSBC Platinum Credit Card

    DO NOT TRAVEL OVERSEAS with a HSBC credit card

    Travelling overseas in America. Advised HSBC prior to travelling the dates I would be overseas. Received an acknowledgment of my travel plans. First day I arrived, my credit card didn’t work, I was unable to pay for the car hire and hotel. Had to get credit on my phone to deal Australia (HSBC USA wouldn’t assist), finally sorted the issue out,…. Then a week later the card was blocked again due to a suspicious transaction,…. The transaction in question was at WALMART!,… id been to Walmart many times before the card was BLOCKED. Had to get more credit for my phone to call HsBC in Australia,…called HSBC and finally got the card unblocked and was told there is no setting to say I am travelling overseas on my account! ,…… a week later and my card is BLOCKED again. Had to get more phone credit,.. but this time the call centre is busy and I’ve been on hold for 15 minutes. Every time you purchase something in America you have to input your card pin! DO NOT TRAVEL OVERSEAS WITH A HSBC CREDIT CARD

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Philip, New South Wales, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • HSBC Credit Card

    Rubbish systems and processes, do not trust

    Made a CC enquiry 5 years ago, have emailed and called recently to have them remove the enquiry from my Credit Report. Every time I speak to someone they ask for my reference, despite never being able to give me one. When I ask them to give me a reference for my file or the enquiry they tell me the "other department" has that information and they do not have access to it. Every time I call to follow up, they tell me it is with another department, but cannot tell me which department and that I have to wait for this department to contact me. Will not give me contact details for the "other department" so I can follow up with them myself. I asked them who do I call and what reference # can I use the next time I call to follow up and they tell me to call (this) same number and I do not have a reference number, so every time I call to follow up the cycle is repeated. Ask them to send me a follow up email after every call, have never received one. 14 business days later and am still waiting for the "other department" to call or email me, after being told they will call in 5 - 7 business days. Have also updated my phone number on their file multiple times but every time I call they tell me they only have my old number on file. They keep telling me all the info we have spoken about is on my file and when I ask for an email to confirm an action has been taken then tell you the "other department" will send you an email. Absolutely rubbish system, wouldn't trust my money w a company who cannot provide basic information like a reference number and contact information.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    D.j.s, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • HSBC Premier World Mastercard (Rewards Plus)

    Credit card application nightmare

    Credit card application nightmare question after question send in many documents than phone calls asking for more details it goes on and on and then a nice little message to say it's been declined and wont give a reason which ruins your credit score. However there's banking is fine just a shame they don't seem to be able to help with credit cards its another branch.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Derek, Western Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • HSBC Platinum Credit Card

    Pray something never goes wrong.

    We had $20,000 dropped into our credit card account by mistake on a balance transfer. We then had to fight HSBC to get the money. Even though we were in credit by $16500. They said we could take the money out in $1000 per day limits and they would charge us 4% per withdrawal as they would deem it as a cash advance. They would not release the money until we closed the account in its entirety. We considered going to the police as technically it was stealing and we did report it to the Australian Financial Complaints Authority. I thought Channel 7 would love a story like this. They held onto the money for over a week - why I don't know. But we missed several other payments because of this, phone etc. and have now been charged late fees because of it. We found the customer service people to lie and say anything that was convenient on the phone.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Brian, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • HSBC Credit Card

    Absolute money grubbing pigs.

    I had excess funds paid into my credit card by accident. They refused to let me withdraw them. They said maximum credit card withdrawal is $1000 per day and they will charge 4% fee for the cash advance. Even though my account was $16000 in credit.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Brian, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • HSBC Low Rate Credit Card

    Great for shopping but know your commitment.

    I have had my low rate credit card for 5 years. I have never had a problem and when I have had a question it has always been answered. It does have a high rate on cash advances but that is not important to me because it is only half that rate on purchases providing you show a bit of self control and not borrow more than you can afford. Basically have a bit of common sense and it will be a nifty thing to have. This is the only bank that would give me a go because my employment is casual. There weren't too many banks that wanted to give me a credit card so in my opinion this bank has been great.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Bryce, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • HSBC Low Rate Credit Card

    Trustworthy, caring and helpful.

    I have been with HSBC for over a year. I find them to be transparent with no hidden costs. They genuinely want to help the customer through any situation. They have been great and helpful through this COVID difficult period. Would highly recommend.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Angela, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Card - Balance Transfer Offer

      Purchase rate
      13.49% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 28 months and then 21.74% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $59 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Qantas Ultimate Card

      Purchase rate
      23.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $450
      Rewards program
      Qantas Frequent Flyer

      Promoted
    • Platinum Edge Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      23.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $195 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program
      Membership Rewards

      Promoted
    • Explorer® Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      23.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $395
      Rewards program
      Membership Rewards

      Promoted
    • Velocity Platinum Card

      Purchase rate
      23.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $375
      Rewards program
      Velocity Frequent Flyer

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 194 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.