Qantas logo

Qantas Car insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 13 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.
Write a review

Recent Qantas car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Qantas Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Unfit for purpose

    Got into an accident 7 months ago, the earliest I could be booked into their garage was 1 month later, get there and a told it’ll take 3 months to get my new bumper in. I was disappointed but what other choice did I have! 3 months later (so 4 months after crash) I start getting all sorts of mechanical warnings on my dash and I no longer feel comfortable driving the car, call qantas and they ask if it had been repaired yet, I told them it hadn’t and I haven’t even been contacted for a date yet for repair. After putting me on hold for a bit so they can call the garage I’m told it’s going to take 3 months to order parts, so essentially the garage forgot my repair… I was told by the nice guy in the call centre he would open a complaint for me, I should hear from them within a week. two calls later to qantas that week I was then dealing with a very rude lady who didn’t have any empathy for my case and again was told they would open a complaint for me and I should hear within two business days… 6 weeks went by and I called qantas having not heard from them, the complaints team ‘closed the complaint and left a note in the file’, they just didn’t contact me or attempt to make any communication with me. What is the point in a complaints dept?!? My car is finally in for repair, has been there for two weeks just to replace the bumper. I get a call on the 12th day to say it’s finished and I can come and collect it. Just for them to call back sheepishly to say that they hadn’t in fact turned the car on and therefore didn’t notice all the warnings on the dash. Now the rental car supplied by qantas needs to be returned as it is only available for the first 14 days of repair, my cars still not fixed 7 months after the accident and I still haven’t heard anything from qantas regarding my complaint. This is not car insurance, this is incompetence. Clearly under resourced, poorly organised and quite frankly the most professional scam.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    William, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Qantas Car Insurance

    The worst car insurance experience EVER!!!

    The worst car insurance experience! Despite paying the excess and filing a claim, I never received any follow-up. Their website was always down and every time I called for updates, I got different timeframes. It's been over a month now and my car is still unresolved despite regular calls. My advice is, do not do it.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Pedro, South Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Qantas Car Insurance

    Clifford

    Please check your currucy certificate, I check mine and to my horror found thet i could only drive 5000k per year which is 13km per day. They never told me that

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Commins, South Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Qantas Comprehensive Car Insurance

    The best on the market

    From day one their communication has been amazing - great service and product and so so easy to set up.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Anna, South Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Qantas Comprehensive Car Insurance

    I love qantas insurance

    I really love qantas care insurance as their prices are competitive, when ever I need anything the wait times on the phone is very short and their customer service is amazing! I also receive qantas points which is a great bonus!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Chrissy, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Qantas Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Good price and good coverage

    The pricing for Qantas Insurance is good, without being too cheap, and the policy covers a lot of things. I haven't had to make a claim so far, so I'm not sure how the claim process works, or if it is fast or slow.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Qantas Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Don't fall for it.

    Most dramatic insurance company ever. All good and great until you sign up. As for the claim, one hoop after the other to jump over. Even if the claim is not at fault. They are just collecting unnecessary information off clients, including the card numbers previously used? I just hope that the repair is better than this. Definitely not recommend it.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Klara, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Qantas Car Insurance

    Great value for Qantas frequent flyer members.

    I get frequent flyer miles here. Not too expensive. Not as easy as using insurance via a bank or AAMI/SGIC/NRMA/RAA though.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Franz, South Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Qantas Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Worst Insurance experience ever.

    This is the worst insurance company I have ever dealt with. Please stay away from it. Your claim will take forever to be reviewed. You will wait for a minimum of an hour on the phone and they will still not answer your call. I have claimed for an accident. One month later and I am still waiting for an answer. They want to repair a total loss car. They want to even change my chassis and repair an unrepairable car. My car is a Landcruiser Sahara. Stay away.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Mustapha, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Qantas Car Insurance

    Best value - premium vs replacement value.

    I found Qantas gave our cars the best replacement value for the best price. Most other insurance companies insured our car at a considerably lower value for a very small premium reduction. Qantas was helpful when we wanted to update the policy. Read the fine print of insurance policies. A cheaper premium generally means less coverage.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Nick, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Qantas Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Qantas Car Insurance leaves a lot to be desired

    I changed my car insurer to Qantas, clearly in hindsight the worst mistake I could have made. Previously I've been with AAMI and had great experiences on the sad occasions when their services were required. I will be returning to AAMI, I'm sorry I changed. I have found Qantas Car Insurance to be bluntly uncooperative, unhelpful and clearly a service on a fixed budget. The accident was no fault of mine, you would think I was asking for the world when all I asked for was compensation for subsequent travel incurred by the claims process. The only response from Qantas was that they were 'okay' if I went after the other guy's insurer myself for the out of pocket. Fair enough if firstly, I hadn't ticked the box on the application and paid for provision of a rental car if my car was under repair, But I did tick the box and I did pay you. Secondly I engaged Qantas as my insurer, alert Qantas, that's why people that don't self insure pay for the services of companies like you. To provide service, something that appears to be sadly lacking. Thirdly as the out of pocket was caused by Qantas' poor service ethic in this instance I thought no. You certainly don't receive the service their marketing promises give expectation to. Don't do it, go elsewhere for your cover. It isn't worth whatever the theoretical saving might be. When you need your insurer and you have a similar experience as myself, you will be disappointed and frustrated if you choose Qantas,, just as I have been. Qantas, stick to flying planes leave the auto insurance game for companies that provide service consummate with cost.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Brian, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Qantas Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great and competitive service.

    I went on their website and got a quick and easy quote for two cars. Left the quotes while discussing with hubby and then they called me and my hubby back to see if needed any help. Qantas had a promotion about the frequent flyer points and received them within the time period.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Kylie, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Qantas Comprehensive Car Insurance

    No respect for people's personal time.

    Who calls potential customers based on an online quote after 7pm?

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Less
    Alan, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.