St.George logo

St.George Car loan customer reviews

Overall rating
5.6/10
Price
5.5/10
Features
4.8/10
Customer service
5.7/10
Convenience
5.6/10
Trust
6.0/10
Based on 269 St.George car loan reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent St.George car loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • St.George Car Loan

    How to avoid early termination fees .

    I have never had a problem with St George, but when l mentioned if l would be charged an early termination fee, they said yes. I am half way through my 5 year car loan. They only let me of 1 payment because l was ahead 1 month. My car recently burst into flames because of a manufacturing fault. I did nothing wrong. I was driving my car and smoke was filling the cabin so l turned off the engine and got out. Five minutes later my car burst into flames. It was very frightening for me. I could have burnt alive. When l get my payout from my insurance company, they will pay out my loan. I shouldn’t have to pay for any fees. My car fire is a very rare occurrence. Does anyone know how l can avoid paying for the early termination fees? My car dealer originally told me to always keep a few dollars on my loan until it finishes to avoid any fees. Has anyone does this? Does it work?

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Suzzane, South Australia, reviewed 12 months ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Worst communications in finance I’ve experienced

    I’ve never had a lender that gave you no communication after the loan. No correspondence by mail , email , msg anything , it’s like they want you to default . Then after 1 month short of a 5 year loan I request a payout and they say they will send it but 3 times I’ve rang and no result yet .

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Darren, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Scammers

    After reading the other reviews I feel I am in the same place. The interest is horrendous and set up by the car dealer James Frizelle. I know it is buyer beware but the terms are not explained properly and there is no mention of a payout to exit early. The interest is horrendous. To exit now with about one year to go there is a loan break fee of over $1500. What is that seriously for? No statements - I guess this is so you don't see how much interest you are paying. A client portal that does not work. I am not even sure these guys are part of St George or Westpac for that matter. So completely unprofessional. Feels more like a loan shark - STAY AWARE FROM THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Luke, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    A compassionate, ethical and reliable bank.

    A few years ago I took out a car loan with St George. A few years in I lost my job and found it difficult to make repayments. Rather than contacting and threatening me, St George took the time to understand me and presented me with some options. The customer service was exceptional and they really took their time to understand my situation. I was treated respectfully and with dignity at all times and they worked hard to resolve the situation with me. I can't recommend St George more highly. If you're looking for an ethical bank that cares about their customers, then I highly recommend St George.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nick, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • St.George Car Loan

    Worst Ever Loan and communication!

    This is the worst ever loan that I ever got. No communication through email, phone, waiting for a long time to be served (30 mins, 40 mins or more). No notification, no tracking record. Bad manner phone talk (so rude I should say). After I had finished making the repayment, they did not clear or update my loan record. I need to chase because my home loan bank is chasing after me. What a nightmare. Don't loan the money from this Car Loan service. So bad, so rude, so hopeless and frustrations.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Hoang, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    St George bank car loan.

    They were the best bank to deal with during COVID and very helpful.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Giulietta, South Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Never again with this bank

    Early exit fees are a disgrace and a ripoff. This bank only seems to be worried about recouping interest fees off me. In this trying time to pay off a car loan I am being slammed with early termination fees, account fees and administration fees. They will not remove any of the fees away because of interest they are losing and they have a COVID-19 deferred payment system in place, where you defer payments for 6 months but with added interest.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sophie, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Never again will I go near St George

    Penalised for paying out early fees are a joke. No support through Covid times at all. Will never use them again or recommend them to anyone else. Staff were always lovely but as a business pfft never again.. Why should you be Penalised for paying out early especially in the tough times we are currently in. You do this to make life easier and they continue to make it harder.. You should be given a discount for paying out early, not Penalised.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Debb, Queensland, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • St.George Car Loan

    Worst experience with a bank.

    Can't even get help from them for my car loan when I'm laid up with an injury and cant work.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dean, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Easy, trustworthy bank who cares for the customers

    St George has been a reliable, easy to deal with bank. I would definitely go through them with my next car purchase.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sarah, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    High exit fees

    I would advice anyone considering St George car finance to shop around beforehand. There's far kinder out there. As other reviewers have pointed out, they have big exit fees should you try to pay the vehicle off early. So be prepared. Most of it will be in the contract, read it carefully. You will be charged an early exit fee of around $100, a termination fee of around $165, and a "break fee." The "break fee" is the amount of money they estimate they would lose should you pay out early. This is estimated at around $15 for the remainder of every month that it didn't take you to pay the car off. For example, the car loan was for 100 months, at the 60th month the car is to be paid off leaving 40 months left on the contract. That adds 40 months x $15 ($600) plus the other fees (total $865) on top of the total amount you still owe on the vehicle. I personally will never take finance with them again. They are used quite a lot in car sales, and the sales person will try to convince you the loan is a good competitive deal and easy to get. Don't say you weren't warned.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tom, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • St.George Car Loan

    Disappointing phone servicing.

    Upon trying to follow up on my car loan repayments I was transferred to 4 different people in 45 minutes to get to the final person and get transferred back. Overall wait time was an hour. Which wouldn't be a problem if I had actually received any assistance from either of the 4 people on the other end of the phone!

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Kate, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Good interest rates.

    Sent false invoice then charged a late fee for not paying it.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Byron, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    No rewards program

    It would be more beneficial if there was a reward program.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Allan, Queensland, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • St.George Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Sharp rate with good service. Simple product.

    Very competitive rate, offered due to new care being purchased and being an existing customer. Very fast processing and easy to deal with.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dim, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Car loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Used Car Loan

      Interest rate
      6.57% p.a.to 18.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      7.19% p.a.to 21.78% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 1 year to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.57% would cost $35,528.12 including fees.

      Promoted
    • New Car Loan - Special

      Interest rate
      6.24% p.a.
      comparison rate
      7.36% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 3 years to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.24% would cost $35,880.27 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Car Loan

      Interest rate
      6.49% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.84% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 1 year to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.49% would cost $35,460.64 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Better Car Loan Special Offer

      Interest rate
      6.24% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.65% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 1 year to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.24% would cost $35,295.27 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Green Car Loan

      Interest rate
      6.09% p.a.
      comparison rate
      7.21% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 3 years to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.09% would cost $35,754.42 including fees.

      Promoted

    WARNING: The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 198 car loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more car loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.