ubank logo

ubank Home loan customer reviews

Overall rating
5.3/10
Price
7.6/10
Features
5.4/10
Customer service
4.9/10
Convenience
4.7/10
Trust
5.3/10
Based on 36 ubank home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent ubank home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • ubank Flex Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <60%)

    Anne

    This is a no frills bank, no branch available , all communication is online or via phone but staff have always been helpful . Low interest rate and low fees. Would recommend.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Davey, South Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • ubank Flex Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <60%)

    Great rates, offsets and local customer service

    Great rates, good options for multiple offset accounts and fast local customer service. Easy to use app.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Paul, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • ubank Neat Home Loan (Investor, Interest Only, LVR 70-80%)

    Will not honour home loan cashback offer

    Delays in home loan application due to glitches in online application system, slow responce times, and jumping through hoops to gain approval. Now that we gain approval, Ubank will not honor cash back offer if our settlement occurs 1 minute past June 30 deadline, despite their involvment in delays. No guarantee settlement will occur in time. Hence i declined the offer after many hours of effort.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mitch, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago
  • ubank Home Loan

    Terrible Application Process

    Completing the application was interesting, in giving them access to all your banking accounts then they estimated your expenses, which for empty nesters having an amount included as education/childcare seemed odd. Difficult to change the computer-generated figures, if allowed at all then we hit the verification process. Oh my god what a slow, cumbersome process this proved to be. Finally gave up :(

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michael, Western Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • ubank

    Avoid.

    Awful customer service. Very slow to deal with. String you along for a couple of weeks then find roadblocks to progress with loan application. You will loose contracts relying on this bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kris, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • ubank Home Loan

    No frills

    No frills home loan, low rates and flexibility to pay off extra. Only downfall is 30 yr term so best to pay it ahead if possible in this climate.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Natalie, Western Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • ubank Home Loan

    Terrible app

    The worst app I've ever used for banking. I will leave this bank purely on the failure of the mobile app. Terrible and clunky, never updated. The Perks of a budget bank!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Fiona, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • ubank Home Loan

    U Bank very band customer service complex process

    Do not recommend to apply for home loans there. I have applied for refinance and they ask for too much of information which does not make sense. I have been asked to provide a letter from The company confirming my position and annual salary even though i have provided with pay slips and a contract letter clearly saying all details requested. The home loan specialists are non reachable and not customer focused. Unnecessary delays. Would not recommend.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ashraful, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • ubank Home Loan

    AVOID! There is a reason their rates are low.

    I refinanced to Ubank a bit over a year ago, I am now trying to leave, that should tell you everything you need to know about this mob. They are an online only bank which you would think would mean their processes are built from the ground with modern features but they are so far behind it's not funny. There was no option to pay my mortgage myself, it had to be direct debited when they wanted to do it and if I wanted to change the account that came from, I had to print out and complete a form, scan it and send it back for processing! I am now refinancing elsewhere and again need to physically sign a discharge form which means getting a print out, scanning it and sending it back. Their features are garbage also. Interest get's added to the loan on a daily basis so the loan amount is constantly fluctuating and it generally takes 2 or 3 days for the amounts to reflect from the date they took the money and the redrawn appears be impacted every time the mortgage is due, then 2 or 3 days later it goes back to what you actually have in redraw. Their rates were once a main draw card but they are no longer that competitive and with the awful service experience, there is no benefit in staying with them. Steer clear of this company, if you must go for a more competitive lender, try anyone else with systems and processes based in this century!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • ubank Home Loan

    Horrendous service and incompetent staff

    Home loan specialist was unbelievably incompetent and absent during what is obviously an urgent and stressful process for the customer. Hotline consultants were useless in providing further assistance and addressing formal complaints. Management was equally indifferent and non-responsive in dealing with the issue, no wonder their staff are the absolute worst. Just proves the business has no accountability and does not value customers at all. Do not use this bank, unless you want to end up punching a wall. Never mind the low interest rate promise, everything else about them is a joke. Beyond pathetic.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    First home buyer, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • ubank Home Loan

    Below par customer care and service.

    UBank will initially process new loan applications in an acceptable industry standard time frame. Once they secure your business they will drop you like a brick and expect that you will be satisfied with a low interest rate and zero customer Service. Over a month ago I submitted a loan variation form/request and must presume that it was deleted or thrown in the bin as there was no response at all. On one of the rare occasions that I was fortunate enough to speak with someone over the phone my request was met with “we are unable to provide that service, the big 4 banks would, but we can’t”. I think that probably sums it up!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michael, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • ubank Home Loan

    Be Mindful

    People be mindful when refinancing with ubank, put aside their competitive interest rate, their response time is tribble. I currently waiting for refinancing, it took their settlement agent MSN to say the building insurance name needs to be amended 35 days from the day I provided them with a copy. A few more documents that each took a few weeks to respond to the acceptance. frustrating....

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Orson, Western Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • ubank Home Loan

    Ubank Ufailed Me

    I have a government job,,,I have near enough cash to pay for next loan without a loan. I have a excellent credit record. I have a home loan with Ubank. They still are extremely slow and no direct voice to voice contact with decision makers...they are impossible. I rang plus emailed many times to increase my loan ...I waited and in the end there was no response from decision maker.. They lost me as a customer,,,,they still advertise, ,I think ,spend money on improving your customer service then you will keep existing customers instead of finding new customers. Or you think your so big you dont need to do customer service? I now have refinance quicker with ING...now the slow pace of discharge by Ubank,,,customer service...forget UBANK..There dealing is difficult.. Its a shame,,,I fully cannot recommend Ubank...I recommend staying away from Ubank.. Do not believe their adverts,,,,smoke and mirrors

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • ubank Home Loan

    Disappointing

    Currently using them for a home loan They simply do not answer your phone calls or emails Made approximately 15 each ! Causing enormous amounts of stress for us.

    Price
    Customer service
    Less
    Brian, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • ubank Home Loan

    Very happy, but lacking an offset account.

    UBank are very competitive in interest rates. Have been very happy with them as a lender. They could improve by offering offset accounts to the home loan.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Liana, South Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      5.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      5.90% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      6.25% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      6.20% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discount Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      5.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discounted Home Value Loan

      interest rate
      6.09% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.09% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      6.29% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.20% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 462 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.